SIMPLE HOW TO: profile picture upload on Steemit

in #profile7 years ago

You just signed up for Steemit. You want to create profile picture. You go to settings. It says:

PROFILE PICTURE URL

Huh?! You mean I can't just upload a profile picture? Well, it's not quite that simple...but it is pretty simple. It took me a few days to figure it out...but I finally did, quite by accident. I hope you will find this post helpful and simple to follow.

I did a search on Steemit.com for uploading a profile picture

I quickly found a post that said I could create a post on Steemit with a photo, and then use the url for that post to create my profile pic. This is the photo I was trying to use as my profile pic.

I copied the url from the address window and pasted it into the box under settings for PROFILE PICTURE URL.

That didn't seem to work. In fact it doesn't. My profile picture was still blank on my profile. I also tried copying the url from a photo I have on my Facebook profile. That also didn't work. THE PROBLEM IS I WAS COPYING THE URL FROM THE ADDRESS WINDOW IN MY BROWSER. As I've stated...that doesn't work.

Quite by accident I discovered how to do it. I was in the midst of creating a new post asking for help on how to create my profile picture from one of my own posts on Steemit. I wanted to include a link to my post I was trying to use the photo from. I opened a new tab and went to my blog post in question. When the tab opened, the post was automatically in edit mode for me to make changes...I assume because I already had a new post that I was editing open in another tab(my post I was creating to ask for help).

When I looked at the post I was going to copy the link from the address bar. However, I noticed that the body of the post included a UNIQUE URL for the photo that ended in .jpg.

I copied that url [without the parentheses] and pasted it into my settings page under PROFILE PICTURE URL.

Voila! Success!

To review:

  1. Create a post on Steemit.com by clicking on 'Submit a Story' found in the upper right corner of Steemit.com once you are logged in.

  2. Upload the photo you want to use into the body of the post.

  3. Make sure you make at least one tag in the bottom field of the post.

  4. Click 'POST'

  5. Once the post is created...click on your blank avatar(profile pic)...select Blog.

  6. Click the link for the post you just created.

  7. Scroll to the bottom of your post and look for the 'Edit' link on the lower right side of the page. Click the link.

  8. Copy the unique url in the post body contained inside the parentheses after the file name of the photo you uploaded.

WARNING: do not copy the parenthesis, only the portion inside the parentheses

  1. Go to the 'Settings' page and paste into the PROFILE PICTURE URL field.

  2. Click 'UPDATE'

BOOM! You're done!

You can follow the same procedure to create a cover photo.

As I stated, at the time of this post on 8/17/17, I am brand new to Steemit.com(about 3 days). Other than my two photo posts for my profile pic and cover photo...this is my first post. I thought this story was so important for new users, especially for those less technically savvy, that I decided to make this my first real post to the community. I almost quit before I got started because I was having trouble figuring this out.

I sincerely hope that you find this post most helpful. If so, please give me an upvote and leave a comment, and if you're so inclined please follow me. I'm looking to build up my Steemit circle.

Signed,
legend93

P.S. a little about me...

I don't like labels especially in today's political climate. However, I most closely align with Libertarians following Natural Law, i.e. Do no harm to another's person or property and allow others to live as they please as long as they are doing no harm to others or others property. I also like the idea of Anarchy...not meaning chaos...simply meaning NO GOVERNMENT.

I believe strongly that:

I own my body.
I own my time and labor.
Taxation is theft.
The US Government Inc., the Federal Reserve, the commercial banks & the Fortune 500, and the IRS are the real mafia.
Cryptocurrencies and the Blockchain are a real chance for humanity to free itself from the forced slavery of the centrally controlled Communist central banks.
I like Bitcoin, Dash, EOS, Omesigo, and Veritaseum. Also silver and gold.
The US dollar is already dead.

END THE FEDERAL RESERVE BANK(which is not FEDERAL, is not a BANK, and has no RESERVES)
ABOLISH THE IRS!!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @legend93! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations @legend93! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the clear instructions, you saved me a lot of time :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51