A Taste of the Morning Routine

in #productivity7 years ago

I believe that the way I start the day lays the foundation for everything else that happens that day.

I also have found myself in the past thinking a lot in the morning. Not deep valuable thinking but mind churning thinking that is rarely productive.

This morning I held my wife first thing in the morning. We are both busy and it is nice to spend a little time together.

Next, I picked up my phone and began to read a book on my Kindle. I attempt to read 10 percent of a book every day. This morning I read James Altucher's book - Choose Yourself

My first call was at 7:30 and I decided to read 10 extra minutes.

I hopped in the shower at 7:25 and dialed in by 7:30.

I took the call and am now logged into my computer to start the day.

Here is what today will look like.

I will deal with my most pressing work issue first thing.

Knock one thing out at the beginning of the day and then move onto other items that are pressing to my team.

Once the critical one through three are complete, I will go and update my Todoist app and Trello Board which tell me the relative priority of items to work on today and into the future.

My goal is to work on as few a things a day as possible and to procrastinate on the stuff that is not nearly as important.

As energy starts to diminish later in the day, them I will take the items that do not require a lot of brain power and try to rapidly knock off a lot of items.

This may be making a phone call, connecting with a friend, Brainstorming a new idea.

If energy is really low, then I will read for a bit or take a long walk or maybe even meditate.

Then, when the work day is done, I head home.

First, I like to meditate but that is not always possible. After that, it is full focus on the kids until bedtime.

That usually involves dinner, some form of play and some form of exercise. We try to mix some laughter in their as well.

Sort:  

Here is a quick audio on what the morning routine can look like -

I'm glad you planned your day well! I'm pretty sure it's gonna be a productive day for you and your family. Try to meditate when you can before going to bed because it will help you sleep nicer. Have a great day! I listened to your audio, nice voice! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66