Curation isn't worth your time. Only do it alongside enjoying quality content.

in #productivity8 years ago

My curation efforts are worth 1.00$ / hour.

With 3500 SP, a few hours of work and my luck, I get a few dollars worth of curation rewards per day, and that's not worth the effort. I had a look at the top posters on the trending page, their wallets and curation rewards. It looks like I'm an average curator. Even top posters don't seem to make significantly more. Maybe they are concentrating their efforts on creating excellent content? In theory, having 10 times more SP should give 100 times more curation rewards, which would be totally ok! 200 $ per day at todays price. That sounds good enough! But I have no chance of getting 100,000$ worth or Steem by posting, and I will certainly not get a loan. So what's the plan?

The greatest benefit of Steem is the quality content

I will make much better use of my time by checking the top 100 trending posts every day, and thus enjoying the most valuable content Steem can provide me. After all, that's the ultimate goal of curation, isn't it? Separating quality content from the rest, to the benefit of readers. If I have extra time, I will have a look at the active and hot categories. Eventual curation rewards will only be a side-effect of my natural voting behavior.

I will make a hundred times more money by learning something new and applying it

If Steem addiction prevents me from getting things done, it's worse than nothing. It gives me a dollar per hour but takes my time away. Thus, no more curation game. I will only enjoy good content and conversations, and contribute the little I have when there's a chance. The trending page will tell me everything I need to know about what's going on in the space. Steem works as it should. Thanks!

Sort:  

"If Steem addiction prevents me from getting things done, it's worse than nothing." - I agree.
" It gives me a dollar per hour but takes my time away." - of course, you're right, the time is one of the most important things in my life.

"Thus, no more curation game. " - I agree. We should upvote what we like. "That's my design" would shout the developers.

I reached the same conclusions these days. I'm just enjoying a good writing from time to time. And put some content myself. If I feel like it. The money are not the main reason (for me) for being here. Discussions are. Exchanging ideas. Learning. That's all. It should suffice.

Cheers.

The trending posts are mostly really good and interesting. I think it's hugely valuable that I don't need to waste my limited time on the internet clicking bait and skimming over tons of topics and troll comments. It's like other people have done the work for me and I just get to enjoy the best. It would be a shame not to make use of it.
I hope it will get even better when you can actually follow people and tags, and maybe blacklist unwanted tags too.

The trending posts are not the single ones that worth reading. Even so, I agree, it's safer, it's verified as good content by many users and "it's certified" in some way.
Yeah, following a good writer and reading from categories (#tags) it should be enough.

Thanks for the post @idealist I found your reasoning interesting and I agree with your point of enjoying good content. If I might make a few suggestions.

1.) I have found a nice little niche in commenting on members blog posts. A few of them have received very nice up votes that in one case paid out well over $200 in SD and Steem. Many blog writers such as yourself have built good relationships through insightful comments. For example if you upvote this comment I will be rewarded and be motivated to watch for your posts.

2.) There is a lot to be said regarding the timing of your vote and it's relationship to the value of your curation reward. If you haven't done so please read this excellent explanatory post. https://steemit.com/steem-help/@liberosist/mind-your-votes-an-investigation-and-guide-to-maximizing-your-curation-rewards
All the best to you as you continue to add value to the network with quality posting, up voting and commenting!

  1. You're right. Commenting can give you a part of the OP's rewards and even earn some on their own. It's likely much better, and better for the system too, as comments add much more value than votes.
  2. That was a good post, and about 10 times better than mine. It looks like the 30 minute rule has somewhat completely eliminated the curation game. What is left is real curation. You just have to admit they have done a good job!

Excellent post! I think to many people treat steemit as a job, and not as a hobby or passtime like reddit used to be.

Steemit has succeeded really well in making this very addictive! It's surprising that such small rewards do the job of incentivizing good curation. But I guess it's just a matter of time before most users notice the small rewards, and then they will start enjoying more -just like us! That in turn might release more rewards for those who stick to the curation game, which is totally ok too.

Speaking of games, do you remember these funky games:

  • curation bots for welcoming,
  • anti spam bots,
  • spam bots,
  • voting bots,
  • liquidity bots

There is even a #bots.

Bots, bots, bots everywhere. A developer loves to create scripts if the task is fun or brings money. :)

It must be a developer's dream :-). Bots that make money!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50