🔅Morning Rituals: High Energy & Low Energy Days are ALL part of the Process.🔅 Here's how mine usually go...

in #productivity6 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of Copy of steemit covers (2).png

Let's talk about morning rituals! Lately, I have one of two mornings. I think the morning I get is dependent mostly on the amount of sleep I get, and what I was up to the day before, but I can usually expect to wake up, pop out of bed ready to grab the mat and get moving in any little patch of sunshine I can.

After that I usually wash my face and I’m ready to thrash a big protein filled or fruit-centric breakfast, crack open the foldable table I work at, get all my bits and pieces, like coffee/green tea, computer, mouse, track pad, water and headphones.

DFA034FF-A207-4F72-BA72-29F2D5FEE909.JPG

Oh and super glue. super glue may be the single most important thing to have on hand while traveling or in a van. Also, fixing things gives me so much joy it's a bit embarassing.

Next I get the to do list sorted. Typically after yoga, my brain is firing 10,000 things at me that either need to be done or that I’d like to work on, along with 50,000 new ideas and inspirations. — Oxygen man, it’s a damn good drug.

Once my brain dump is safe in a notebook or app like Wunderust… I push it aside….

Deep breath, and I’m IN. Blasting beats in my headphones for a solid 2 hour, sprint before I come up for air.

Truthfully, I have one of those REALLY keyed in days maybe 2 or 3 times a week. OH HOW I WISH I COULD DO IT EVERY DAY! But I have to come to terms with my lack of Borg DNA. Realize I’m just a “hooman” (as the doggo say). I have a constantly changing and swirling set of biological processes, hormones, and chemical reactions which means, things change. And so, I must be at peace with the adaptation process.

The other type of day I have is much slower. I spend the first 10 minutes of the day scrolling through my phone, or sitting on the edge of the bed staring into another dimension. Sometimes I do the full setup at my little desk hoping the positioning will remind me how to get work done, and other times I work from bed, snuggled with blankets with pillows and a hot water bottle at my back.

9707EF16-39B9-4F23-ADA0-969444C5368E.JPG

*It's hard not to want to be bundled up in cozy mode all day when everything about the weather is telling your inner caveman DNA to seek out warms and comforts at all costs... We're seasonally affected creatures wether we like it or not. *

My work sprints are much shorter on the slow days, maybe 20 minutes at a time, with a 5 minute break in between. There’s still tea and coffee but they don’t seem to have the same effect, and on the “slow” days I end up doing yoga in the late afternoon if at all, and it’s more of a hatha- or yin style to take care of my tight muscles.

There is a rare third type of day, in which I start out slow, and either by sheer stubbornness of will , or the realization that I have way too much to do that day, I sluggishly grab my mat, stumble out the door and pray that the yoga helps me jump tracks back on to the fast lane. Sometimes it works! Sometimes it doesn’t and I’m just straight up creatively TAPPED, if I overdo the caffeine trying to get out if it, it can quickly escalate to anxiety so, I’ll have a bit of a sprint-y morning and call it early for a walk to the shop, or to play a good OL VIDJA-GAYME.

333C76ED-2854-4E01-9C47-9E9B7CEF7C67.JPG

Being a ray chaser this time of year can be difficult, but it's always worth it! Here's where I did yoga this morning, and even though it was below freezing I was removing layers in minutes!

So those are my 3 kinds of days, I try to follow my energy, and to be as flexible and loving with my self as I can (or remember to be). As much as I’d love every day to be full-on crush mode, those days are often so intense and powerful I can often get a week’s worth of work done in one or two.

Today is feeling like one of those days, and even though we’re heading out in about 2 hours I think I can make them work for me, so- wish me luck!

If you’re having a slow day, lean into it, there’s probably a reason you’re feeling that way, take some time to take care of yourself and take a step back from the things that are running you ragged. Play a game, read a book or do a puzzle, and attack the next day instead of prolonging the fatigue for the rest of the week by pushing.

Wherever you are, have an extra sip of that hot beverage and picture me reaching through your device’s screen and giving you a high five.

Good Morning You!
<3
Dayle


morning-coffee.pngless-clients
wellness.pnggreycheck.pngdye-hair.png
update-heydayle.pngtee-shirts.png
birthday.pngvalentines.png
hygge.pngpeak-district.png
60-rep.pngfollowers.png
altcoins.pngsushi-rice.png
Sort:  

Ah I so needed to read this today, thank you! :) I am still in my pjs and struggling to move off the sofa. On the plus side I am reading a lot if steemit blogs lol

Lol sounds like a plan! And thank you for stopping by!

I am a creature of habit, I find, and tend to get into a system. But the habit often changes week to week. It's like I crave a groove, but then crave the need to change the groove to a new lane, which is fine, fleixibility is the key in many things, inlcuding setting goals and paths to achieve them!

As they say, the only CONSTANT in life IS CHANGE, so true.

And another of my favourite sayings is, if you want to make God Laugh, Make a Plan.

Keep on keeping on! :)

I know exactly what you mean! I do best when I have a set routine, but then I get bored and restless and have to switch it up, it's a bit of a bell curve of efficiency huh?

Yes, I guess, like everything, it's all about balance.

Absolutely 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94