Procreation and Evolution

Evolve Your Brain by Joe Dispenza D.C.

So I am reading this book that I borrowed from my chiropractor’s office about how the brain works. I am really enjoying it and learning lots of things that I didn’t know or have heard about but never was able to make much sense of.

One of the things that has made an impression on me is how our life experience and even our concentrated efforts can actually change our genetic makeup to a degree. We can alter ourselves and our brain for better, (or for worse).

This got me to thinking. If we can actually change or improve ourselves by experience and mental discipline does it follow that the genes that we pass to our offspring will be different at age 20 from the genes that we pass to them at age 40?
Do children born to older parents have a mental genetic advantage?

Historically and evolutionarily speaking, I imagine that people have usually started families at a fairly young age because they are in the prime of their physical life. They are as strong as they probably ever will be to protect and provide for their family’s future. But are they at their intellectual prime at that age? When it comes to survival, intelligence plays a secondary role to strength, speed and endurance. So it makes sense that young people have children.
But is the world different now? Is human evolution as dependent upon brawn as it has historically been? Or does our continued evolution depend more on our brain nowadays?

Bottom line; does it make sense to have children later in life rather than at an age where we are still so immature, undeveloped and lacking in life experience.

Please know that I mean no offense by the implications of this post. I am writing and asking about this as a 62 year old man who decided in his early twenties to have a vasectomy because I didn’t want to bring a child into this world. As I grew older, I paid a price for that decision but I felt then and I am fully convinced now that I would not have been able to be the father I wanted to be.
But today, as I look at my life and the changes that all these decades wrought in me. I think I would do right by a child. Or at least not mess them up as much as I was.
Too late for me of course. But I thought it was worth discussing.

0EA01747-5F09-4E57-8E70-6693012D4D7B.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77