Snowden says don't use Wifi, I explain why

in #privacy5 years ago

Snowden said this week:
"I wouldn't use WiFi at home, because global maps of every wireless access point's unique ID—including yours—are free and constantly updated. I would use ethernet; yes, ethernet on a phone."

Using ethernet on your phone? I explain why you shouldn't turn your wifi router on, and why you shouldn't turn your phone into a hotspot. It's shocking how unsafe it makes your location.

Resources from the video:

USB-C to ethernet adapter:
https://amzn.to/2lOVBoy

Lightening to ethernet adapter:
https://amzn.to/2nWyNns

Wigle.net provides an amazing resource for WiFi mapping. They also respect the privacy of anyone who requests their information to be removed from the database. To have records of your access point removed from their database send an email to: WiGLE-admin[at]WiGLE.net (please include BSSID (MAC) in removal requests).
Also, append the tag ‘_nomap’ or ‘_optout’ to your SSID to stop other website tracking your location.

Sort:  

Very interesting article, I never considered this. I do recommend the Turris Omnia router, but seems like this is even better.

I don't know anything about that router, thanks for the tip!

As far as routers go, it's the best that's out there to my knowledge. But clearly not as good as hardwire connections now but that's not always a realistic option depending on a person's circumstance.

What does it matter when our chum Elon is helping to cover the planet with 5G anyway?! Great link to the usb to ethnet!

Thanks for watching!!

We need a decentralized wifi 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

We need a decentralized everything :)

Totally agree! 🙌🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

That Wigle thing does not know where I am right now, and that's cool with me.

Thanks for that link though. I love maps with dots.

I love maps with dots too :) And apparently, I'm also now terrified of maps with dots...

Good info! Thanks! I follow you now and resteeming.

This is why everyone should have a phone that isn't attached to their identity and GPS, microphone, camera, etc. should be turned on/off with physical switches.

Okay, now how da hell do we get decentralized wifi? Great channel, already following you!

Great question! Some interesting companies working on possible solutions, but we're not there yet. Thanks for watching!!

Thank you for the invaluable info and special thanks to @v4vapid for resteeming it.

We're far more exposed than secure when we think we've already set all the measures in place. I knew before the vulnerabilities of the names and addresses SSIDs but the BSSID is new for me, also the online maps, thought that was government work only and not an open sea for all sorts of predators online.

We have nothing to hide, we do nothing wrong, but this much exposure is way beyond acceptable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed, it's a little scary! Thanks for watching!!

Great video, love the Snowden series, thanks!

Oh crap! Many we are living in the matrix 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

We are indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85