Why I love these emails about updated privacy settings

in #privacy6 years ago

I think they should be forced to do this at least once a year. Inform all their subscribers about the terms, about the fact that they have your information and that they will continue to send you their newsletter.

EU policy

Perhaps not all of you have noticed this, as Steem is a very international community. But the EU has decreed that as of today a new privacy law is into place, part of which is that companies need to have proof that people have really opted in to get bombarded by news letters etc. (Read about it here on Wikipedia)

Which has led most companies to send out an email to people in their file, asking them to 'CLICK HERE' to stay enrolled for the newsletter.

CLICK HERE.jpg

I LOVE THIS!

Today I deleted 18 such emails. From companies I only vaguely remembered, from websites I sometimes visited and from newsletters I've been deleting for years without thinking about the fact I could perhaps better unsubscribe. Because, you know that little voice inside your head: maybe one day I'll have time to actually read what they have to say.

Well, I guess I decided to start all over. No more newsletters. No more companies having my email address to sell to others. So, thank you EU, it's been great having had companies email me to say they will cancel my subscription, instead having to look for the smallest print and having to remember passwords I never gave them in order to unsubscribe for something weird.

Let's do this every year!

If you would like to receive a newsletter about what I do, you can go to my website and click somewhere there. I have some subscribers. I have however never sent out a newsletter. Perhaps in the future that may change, but for now. No, I'd rather spend my time writing!

Sort:  

I almost obsessively unsubscribe to stuff whenever anything tries to send me a newsletter. It is such a satisfying feeling when you've been bombarded with newsletters and then you banish it into the ether.

I am afraid it is not about us, but about the redistribution of profits from advertising. Email is now banned for small and medium sellers, so guess where they go to connect to their audience? Google and Facebook are those who win. Because email belongs to individuals, it's easier to take this channel away from advertisers.

It was only yesterday that I was going through my emails and unsubscribing from all the newsletters I keep getting. I'm tired of them cluttering up my inbox.

Sounds really great, it feels good to purge useless connections, especially to commercial operations you no longer have any use for. From one perspective this seems to be a real positive to the people of Europe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63