Googles MagicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #privacy7 years ago

Holy crap.

Google. Well, technology, is scary now, but useful as hell.

Today, it contrasted a picture when I was unwell, with a picture of now, saying, Now and Then.

Screenshot_20171118-162556.png

It facially recognizes, notices patterns, provides suggestions for everything, knows where you and helps me get to where I want to go.

I use Google Maps almost everyday. It saves me time on the morning commute. It helped me avoid a 20 minute delay on the normal route last week.

On certain days, it prompts me of destinations, based on previous behaviour.

Scary as hell, oh, but wait, yes I do want to go there

I take a photo. Oh, would you like to do a review of that restaurant or location?

Screenshot_20171118-162855.png

Take a look at a place that you want to go. Google can tell you, based on the connectivity of all us minions, whether it will be busy or not.

Go on. Take a look.

Screenshot_20171118-160926.png

It know s what you've done today.
Screenshot_20171118-161029.png

Of course, I sign up to it. I delight in it. I have a bad sense of direction. It helps my weaknesses.
Screenshot_20171118-161740.png
But today, the Google Assistant, provided a little video, yes, it grabbed pieces of information, about my 7 year old son. It titled it, "Grow Up Too Soon"!
Seriously, it went through my photos and videos, and made a collage, based on facial recognition, about my son.

Did we cross a line here? Will there be a video of, Recorded Sexual Failings? haha It is funny?

But really, what level of private information, not my private information, but other people's private information, am I providing? I shouldn't have that right. Right?

A kid that barely makes it to the toilet on time when he plays games. A friend that isn't on social media, that I happen to capture on my camera.

Wow, if the data is used for, less than innocent purposes, as the Wikileaks CIA disclosure has shown us, there would be nothing I could do about it. Right? Who would I see? What if I had data on my phone that would discredit me or my reputation? Maybe I would zip my mouth.

Crazy times. Is this how politicians get bought? Wrong place, wrong time?

But I love the technology, I love the smarts and applications, I just hope they are in ethical, moral and balanced hands.

I'm @jagged

Sort:  

The privacy concerns of the facial and voice recognition technology is such a sleeping time bomb. It’s really cool that Google have you a nice photo collage, as they say catch more ants with Honey than vinegar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81