Have nothing to hide? Encryption Online is Important Even So! Avoid Online Surveillance!

in #privacy7 years ago

My friends are often surprised how i have everything encrypted (sometimes even few times) and often say - why bother, i have nothing to hide.

You sure? Would you like some odd guy get pictures of your kids? Would you like some hacker to get your bank accounts?
Would you like some other odd guy get photos of your wife? Or maybe you would like to publish all films and websites you ever browsed even by missclicking ?
'

I DONT THINK SO.

You think you dont do anything bad online but imagine if whole world could access 100% of your data. Are you sure there is no single malicious guy in the world who could do you harm by having all this data? Maybe an employee you had to let go, or a guy who you did not let write your homework from ?

Ok my words are not goood enough.

Check this video then: https://archive.org/details/tips-to-help-avoid-online-surveillance

Encrypotion + VPN = Safety

Stay safe!

Sort:  

thanks for the info - i want to be safe online and i followed you for more info and will upvote in appreciation

Interesting post ! Getting seen all the time sounds creepy indeed...

I'm not sure if you can be truly safe on the internet nowadays no matter how much encryption is used. You're probably safe from most 'hobby hackers' but people who go in deep in unclear. They're finding more ways (or at least publishing) to spy on people and it's almost scary. Like using you speakers and reversing it somehow, using it as a microphone. You gotta be careful.

I've been teaching myself some cryptography libraries in Python to make my own AES-256 Encryption tools so I can crypt a few text files that will hold backups of my wallets/or seeds, it's invaluable.

  • Full Disk Encryption
  • Password manager - keypass. never use sam password twice
  • Think about everything you do online. Remember its all logged somewhere
  • VPNs are really good idea but if its in a lame country and they log its not the best and could be possibly be hosted in Bills basement in the USA.
    https://nordvpn.com/

some great tools mentiond here
https://privacytoolsio.github.io/privacytools.io/

Secure you machine🤓

I agree completely, if anyones interested in a more detailed reason to encrypt your computer/device click there, or if you're interested in how to do so check out this.
Don't get triggered now, I'm not shilling my content, I already got my payout for those and I won't benefit from it. Just stay safe mates. Fuck the feds, the police, and the government.

The other side of this is that certain government agencies assume encryption means you're hiding something, so if you only encrypt what you want to hide, you're promoting this idea and giving agencies more reason to work to decrypt your information.

If everyone encrypted everything all the time, the governments would go nuts! The wouldn't know where to start or who's business to pry into.

I need encryption and a bunker. Then ill be set! Maybe some snacks too.

I recently deleted more than 200 passwords and a whole lot of other private information from my machines, and I feel like that's nowhere near enough. I'm enabling 2-factor authentication on everything on top of resetting all of my old passwords. I signed myself and my grandparents up for an ID fraud protection service and a friend has been pushing me to subscribe to a good VPN service. The way Google and Apple are constantly asking me to update my passwords is both annoying and disturbing now that I've totally lost confidence in these people with how they handle my private information.

And the fact that everything we post on Steemit is recorded in the Blockchain for anybody to see 24/7, 365 is a little creepy. No privacy it is then!

Have you seen the amount of Steemit support websites out there that contain information about your account, every post, every edit, how much money your worth etc. Bit overkill. Stalkers paradise.

Recommend VPN as well, good advice. I’m using one right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00