Should We Reconsider Posting Our Kids' Photos On The Internet?

in #privacy7 years ago (edited)

I recently read a very interesting post on Slate at:
http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/data_mine_1/2013/09/facebook_privacy_and_kids_don_t_post_photos_of_your_kids_online.html

It was titled, "We Post Nothing About Our Daughter Online". The premise of the article is that by posting hundreds of photos online of your kids, you are feeding the data machine that will be able to create a very detailed profile of the kid before they are even mature enough to use social media themselves.

The author even discusses how posting things about the kid could damage their reputation or chances to get into college without you even realizing it.

As I'm preparing to welcome my first child into the world in January, this article really has me considering keeping everything about my child off the internet. It makes me wonder if this is the reason why Gary V. keeps his children hidden from the spotlight.

The best part of this article was when the author talked about locking down all the social profiles and domain names for the child before they were even born. This is a brilliant idea! It's also very smart of them to check to make sure there's not someone else with the same name that has a negative reputation online, so the kid won't have to explain that all the time.

I get it. There is a famous children's book author named Brendan Wenzel as well and I'm constantly having to tell people that I'm not him when they look up my name online.

This article gave me a lot to think about and it seemed appropriate to share with you guys.

Sort:  

Wow that is smart to lock down the name of the social media sites, Just in case they want them. They can always be taken away later. I agree with this! It's such a tough subject.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65