FBI is in my modem...

in #privacy6 years ago

Ok I've been known to be a bit paranoid in the past, but this is just too weird....

I just bought a used antminer and was working on my configuration. I logged on to my centurylink modem and pulled up the device table to find the IP address of the unit to complete the config. everything went fine. then I started snooping around my modem's device table and checked the inactive items. That's when I found it 192.168.0.2 one of the very first items registered in the list was listed as FBI-Mobile-1E MAC: d8:1d:72:13:f7:a7. Has anyone else seen anything similar. I can only speculate on the purpose of this item.
1.) it's a joke... maybe the installer was goofing on me. Like the FBI would ID themselves
2.) The FBI inserted their device on my list incase they wanted to do surveillance at some future time
3.) FBI is not the Federal Bureau of Investigation but some other centurylink service.

Untitled.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @billynoe79! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00