You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if prisons were actually about rehabilitation?

in #prisoners6 years ago

It is an important but a difficult topic to tackle. On one hand, I agree that there really need to be made more efforts for rehabilitation and re socialization.

On the other hand, I also think that doing so would be more of a case of treating the symptoms, not the cause of the actual problem.

Leaving mental diseases and problems that come with that aside, efforts need to be so that everyone can live a life that is just comfortable and manageable enough that acting in violation to the law is just not attractive.

On the other hand. in order for people to respect the big laws, we need to enforce the small ones. That may sound harsh but rules aren't there to limit your freedom but to highlight your possibilities.

Sort:  

I thank you for your comment but I recognize that a discussion on this particular topic may not be very fruitful for either of us. This is because I believe that rules are there to limit our freedom, and so with a disagreement on the principle, I feel it#s somewhat pointless arguing the product.

Check out the Maxims of Law pertaining to punishment, you might find a few you don't agree with but you'll have no problem approving of this one:

A prison is established not for the sake of punishment, but of detention and guarding.

https://ecclesia.org/truth/maxims.html#Crime

If you want the book on them. https://books.google.com/books?id=qMkEAAAAYAAJ

This sounds agreeable, but only as long as it isn't limited to detention and guarding. I would like prisons to still be places where you can actually create a foundation on which you can build a life on after you are being freed.

The mind is that place. Prison isn't supposed to be about Isolation either.

I disagree, the stronger the opposition the more fruitful the discussion. I can't learn anything from someone who just agrees with me on everything I say and vice versa.

And on your next point, we have rules and laws that punish people that go around killing people. This may limit some, but it makes me feel much more free because I do not have to fear that I get murdered at any given opportunity just because.

There's no "big law" or "small law", there's only law. Law is the product of Reason and most of the law comes directly from Mosaic law or it comes from the Golden Rule.

Didn't know that these are called "The golden rule". Always something new to learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72