Prison for Assholes – Part 1

in #prison7 years ago (edited)

So I'm finally gonna try and write about my time in prison. I think I have put it off for so long because when I've started to write it down I've realised that it doesn't make a lot of sense without some background to my life and it has seemed a little convoluted on paper, but I gotta do it, so Steemit seems a good way to break it into consumable chunks without boring the pants off people. Hope you enjoy.

I started selling weed when I was 14, it was a fairly natural progression from gathering my mates money and being the one to score, to buying it in cheaper and making mine for free, to getting a student loan at 18 and buying a nine-bar of black and selling it through college and my town. Skip forward 20 years and I had been growing skunk in various places (culminating in a factory and a few hundred plants) and setting up friends and associates who I could then buy cheaply from. I was selling so much weed I didn't really need to work but held a part time bar manager job and then started my own business so I could keep up a pretence to whom I needed to.

I went onto selling on the dark web site The Silk Road (the FBI stole my 70 bitcoin when it went down, the twats) and going to the post office with bin bags full of vacuum-packed weed and sending them all over the country. Most of them to places it was harder to get good weed, London, Scotland, and the Isle of Man. The local postoffice were suspicious as hell but frankly I just didn't care at that time. I'd been selling weed for 20 years without even talking to a copper, I felt invulnerable somehow.

It turned out on the Isle of Man it's really hard to get good weed, and if you can it costs a fortune. It makes sense of course, because they are cut off from the mainland with a large and bored police force conducting their own personal war on drugs. I got an offer to go over there and literally double my money on any weed I could get. I was chasing money relentlessly at the time, looking back I was using it to run away from inner demons (we'll get to that). So after some initial hesitancy I decided to check it out. It was too easy. The buyers were cool and I doubled a few grand and had a weeks holiday with my dog.

Within a month I had bought a camper van I deemed suitable and hollowed out part of the roof insulation to stash the weed in and re-carpeted for each trip. I was taking an average of 3 kilos a time triple vacuum sealed. This would have cost me 12k to 15k and I would virtually double my money each trip and have a lovely holiday with my camper van, dog and bike, sweet right?

To be continued...

Here's my local paper's take with my mugshot from my second arrest (for the same crime): http://www.hebdenbridgetimes.co.uk/news/businessman-jailed-for-cannabis-smuggling-operation-1-7328828

Sort:  

Congratulations @veggkray! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was hoping you would come back to steemit, I started reading your posts after you left.

You should probably add a picture of some sketchy looking inmates for this series to get people's attention.

I will be waiting for part 2 of this and if you need anything PM me on steemit.chat

I think I'll get on here more eventually, just very busy at the moment. Good call with the pics, thanks man appreciate it.

I added my own mugshot for you, I'll try find my first mugshot, it was even worse haha

sounds like a movie script mate!

haha, it felt like one at times. The arrest is funny, I'll try and get to it soon

I'm subbing. I wanna hear your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51