Success! 3D Printed Guitar tuned and tested

in #printing7 years ago

The wonders of 3D printing continue to be made apparent.

Successfully 3D printed a guitar recently and got it set up to standard (E-A-D-G-B-E) tuning. It was printed in six pieces and then epoxied together. The brown parts of the guitar are Sainsmart wood-PLA mixture filament, while the black parts are solid e-Sun PLA.

In my experience, I found that the headstock of the guitar could not handle the tension of the strings with just epoxy. To remedy this, I drilled into the neck and the headstock in an identical spot, then screwed the two parts together with a double-sided bolt.

I'm attempting to make two more of these guitars now. The first edition used nylon strings, while the next two will use phosphor bronze.

Credit to Solstie for designing the schematics. Interested in making your own? Visit his link on Thingiverse: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:486731

Sort:  

What does it sound like? You should do a YouTube video of you playing it and link it to your post so we can listen to it.

I'm definitely planning on creating some videos to showcase their sound once I have created the second one with phosphor bronze strings! I want to make sure I know which sounds better first. The wood filament definitely helps with giving it the natural resonance of an acoustic guitar!

Looking forward to hearing them.

That is really cool dude, I'm impressed!

What kind of 3d printer do you have? All I have is one of those lame pens haha.

Thank you! As for my 3d printer, it's actually a funny story:

I personally own a Monoprice Maker Select V2, but I also have a membership at a local makerspace that grants me access to larger rigs: A Lulzbot TAZ 5 and a CubeX Trio. I like to run all of them at once to make my builds faster when I have multiple parts :) And I like those pens! I don't have one myself, but I've seen people make some very cool sculptures with them. Gives the prints more of an expressive, free-form appearance I think.

Nice Bro!

wow dude, that's incredible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64444.96
ETH 3506.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58