d3D Sculpting review: a mobile 3d sculpting tool

in #print3d6 years ago

Today I'm travelling by bus to girona for a plane to denmark, with a detour by perpignan where my mother gets on the bus, for a week off in Denmark.
viva la vida 😃
so, having decided not to take my computer with me, I'm testing out a 3D sculpting mobile app !

Some texturing on a "winged bull" I created using the d3D Sculptor app.

I've recently been teaching myself blender, with the hopes of learning to do proper 3d sculpting down the road and use it with my (still ##@$# delayed) Migo 3d printer.
so, let's jump in shall we ?

d3D has 3 main modes available, boasting about its 2dto3d and box modelling modes being the first ever on mobile (I strongly doubt that kind of self glorifying statement though)

sculpt and paint was the main reason I decided on testing the app, of course.
that and it can export to STL for further refinement and fixing, and then 3d printing !!!

The interface can be a bit obscure, but the app starts up the first time with a tutorial that explains how to select the different tools and use them, so that's pretty neat.

It can't quite get the input of My Galaxy Note stylus properly for the buttons, but the modelling itself can be done using the stylus, so Yay 😄

Here's my "goblin", which I created by playing around with the Grab, Smooth, Crease and Add tools.
and here's the start of that bull, as well as a few shots of it after it was done:

and some texturing for the heck of it 😛

The 2dto3d mode is a strange little one.
Maybe it can be used efficiently, Maybe not, but at least it allows the creation of primitive shapes for the modelling start.

The box modelling thingy makes no sense to me. any of you using this kind of modelling ?

All in all I like playing around with the tool.

It makes a lot of nasty errors in terms of manifoldness and isn't very accurate, so might need some corrections before I can print my Winged Bull up there 😅

now I got to help my mother into the bus,
I'll try my best to post during the week but ill mostly be occupied with the family I think.

see ya around !

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Saw this post on curie so have come to see what is what...Amazing...

Happy you liked it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I also played recently with differnt sculpting tools.
The one I loved most was Scupltris. But its difficult to imaging doing this with a tablet.
I needed my mouse to get decent results :D

I was doing it on my phone 😅

Sculptris is one tool that's good too.
Given I'm teaching myself blender, I'm going to try and learn blender sculpting too when I have my new computer, as I'll be getting a new mouse for it too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05