"Block Cup": A 3D printing Design tutorial

in #print3d5 years ago (edited)

Time for another entry into the #selfCADchallenge spring design competition !

firefox_wQROJ96WiU.png

This time, I'm designing a 3D printable minecraft-esque cup !

Why ?

I have no idea... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

The idea just came to me, while working on another #Superrare artwork, and I had to make it ;)

This is yet another entry to the #selfCADchallenge, and as such was designed in SelfCAD and is hosted on MyMiniFactory

Starter shape

To start the design, I used the Sphere Shape Generator:

firefox_BmZpJDB4YL.png

Then, I passed it through the Magic Blocks tool, which allows us to "blockify" the shape:

firefox_Qu8qyxAFks.png

hollow it out and cut off the top

I then re-created a sphere of the exact same dimensions using the aforementioned Sphere Shape Generator:

firefox_I06Tbg2YEB.png

As you can see, I played around with the height scaling a bit, trying to create a good border.
After adjusting that parameter slightly, I then moved it upwards and used the Stitch and Scoop tool to remove one from the other:

firefox_aiQYL1JVy4.png

As you can see, there's still some adjustments to make.
So I created a cube and removed it from the top, to eliminate all those parts at the top.
Wouldn't make a very good cup, with those in, after all:

firefox_n1HABBL1IJ.png

firefox_GPsQB0CMPa.png

A handle

I then used the Cylinder Shape Generator to create a small cylinder shape:

firefox_QnmWoKGw08.png

I used the Bend Modifier tool to bend the shape into a good handle like shape:

firefox_LlJUn7PN19.png

firefox_nhJbJTgie3.png

And, after moving it into place, and scaling it a bit, I re-applied the Magic Blocks tool:

firefox_1JuO5U93SX.png

Cosmetic adjustments

Now it's just some relatively cosmetic adjustments.

I thought it needed a bit of an adjustment in the size of both the top of the cup, and the side of the handle.
So i re-created some cubes and applied the Stitch and Scoop tool:

firefox_6UbE8fqHhY.png

firefox_L5U2MBJDdO.png

firefox_nA4RYLgQ0O.png

firefox_TU89TEuZqH.png

The Practical aspect

Now, we need to insure it's got relatively acceptable dimensions.

After all, even though the entry of the design competition that has been featured in the MyMiniFactory newsletter is this bad boy:

The design competition has the keyword Practical in it.

Something I'm really hoping will weigh in when judging happens, as my designs have all been created around this idea, and a lot of the more impressive works (which I fear will win ;) ) have no practical purpose at all.

So, I did a quick google and found this:

firefox_TkFvQLSlkc.png

And proceeded to adjust the dimensions accordingly (keeping the overall proportions intact):

firefox_n9KPIBcJIH.png

And finally I ran the model through the Magic Fix tool, which is supposed to correct any invalid geometry that would make the model unprintable:

firefox_wakCTJDJlk.png

And voila, the model is done !

Sort:  

It's rather stylish. ;) Nice job! I love pixelized things.

thank you 😊
I'm rather pleased with the result too.

fingers crossed for that competition 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @pbock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86