Belly Dance Class with Mayte Garcia

in #prince7 years ago

Thousands of people know Mayte Garcia as the ex-wife of Prince. For me, she's the intriguing dancer I first saw when I was about 7 years old. She danced in Prince's video "7". I was fascinated by her fancy skirt and top plus she balanced a sword on her head. I spent years wishing I'd be able to dance with her and even pretending to dance with her as I watched Prince's videos. She sparked my interest in belly dancing.

Yesterday, July 30, my dream came true. She came to Spotlight Dance studio in Orlando, Florida to teach. The class was amazing! There were about 25 people in class of all shapes, sizes, ages, & dance levels. Mayte is a great teacher too. I've taught dance on and off for years and started college as a Dance Education major so I can fully appreciate a good dance teacher.

She taught us the basics of belly dance, a bit of choreo, then danced with each of us 1 by 1. Be still my heart!!!

Mayte's career has taken her all over the world and she has danced with superstars; Prince wasn't the only one. To have her take time out of her schedule to dance with us all over the country shows what kind of person she truly is at heart. Many professional dancers will not hold an open master class. They usually restrict it to trained dancers only. Mayte's classes are open to anyone who wants to dance!

Her staff was so sweet too. Plus she travels with her 2 pups. 💖💖💖

Not many people get the chance to dance with their favorite dancer. I waited 25 years for this moment and I will always treasure it!!!

IMG_20170730_193731_946.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31