Happy Pride Month! | How I went from Christian Indoctrination to No Judgment

in #pride6 years ago

pridemonth.jpg

Image from https://www.pinterest.com/pin/422916221229193163/

Growing up in a Christian family in the USA, I was taught that homosexuality was a sin. When I was a teenager, my best friend and I used to practice kissing at sleepovers, because we worried that we would be bad kissers. Good thing our Youth Minister did not know it. I was shocked when she accused me of being a lesbian. Although, I knew I was not, it ruined our friendship. Teenageers can be so mean!

As a young adult, I began to question all of the things I had learned in the church. I changed from my judgmental ways to accepting people as they are. Today, I am proud to have some great friends who are gay. We have made some amazing memories together.

More and more studies have been published that declare being LGBTQ is not a choice, as was the claim of the Preacher in my old church. It is something people are born with, and I recall reading somewhere that it may be caused due to the amount of testosterone the mother produces during the pregnancy.

“On June 26, 2015, the U.S. Supreme Court struck down all state bans on same-sex marriage, legalized it in all fifty states, and required states to honor out-of-state same-sex marriage licenses in the case Obergefell v. Hodges.” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_same-sex_marriage_in_the_United_States)

I remember this day very well, because I went to a huge Pride Party in Seattle, Washington. So as we celebrate this month, let’s be thankful for how far we have come in history and support one another, no matter what our sexual orientation.

ally.jpg

Image from https://www.pinterest.com/pin/2955555977809200/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41