The Characteristics and the Destiny of Pride

in #pride6 years ago (edited)

images.jpeg

I can still freshly remember up until now how many special people I almost lost just because of this fleeting pride. During high school where everyone is on their puberty stage and where hormones rapidly change, inevitably our emotional side as human beings has always been put to test and tried.


At one point, I had this very close cousin of mine who shared the same roof with me and my family for her entire stay in high school. During this whole 4 years of being together in the same house, there were really highs and lows in our relationship. We celebrate little things like having good scores, school achievements and other academic promotions since we also happen to be classmates at that time. But on the other side, we also quarrel over such little things which almost destroy the treasure of our friendship. Shamefully I admit, seeing her wake up first early morning, going to school earlier than I do, she having higher allowance than I and seeing her excel a little in our school are some of the things that made me furious about her. With these, it made me not to talk to her for months or a quarter even though we almost share the same bed everyday. (Totally rude right)


I had this thinking before that I should not talk to her first but instead she'll be the one to talk or say things first so that I'll respond back at her. Somehow, this mindset has been inculcated in me that such scene makes me think and feel as the better man and the higher man in this whole matter. However, all this time of now being a mature man, i've fully realize that it does not make her less of a person if she does all the things just to save our relationship, but its I who lost a lot just because of taking and killing the time away for the both of us to supposedly enjoy and make valuable moments together. That's why folks let me live these following points that i want to get across to every single individual...



Time is something you cannot redeem, therefore make the most and the best out of it. Make moments and memories that are worth every second.



proverbs-16-vs-8-e.jpg

For if any person thinks himself to be somebody (too important to condescend to shoulder another's load) when he is nobody (of superiority except in his own estimation), he deceives and deludes and cheats himself.



Pride is a sin, and it is a culprit behind all broken relationships.



The signs of pride include an unwillingness to admit fault, to take responsibilty for one's actions, and to initiate making peace. Pride wants to do all the talking, and none of listening. Pride is stubborn; it does not want to be instructed, it wants to instruct others!

As far as human relationships are concerned, NO ONE IS BETTER THAN ANOTHER.

Thankfully, my cousin and I are enjoying the gift of priceless friendship now simply because we did not let pride take away the joy of being happy forever. Folks, PRIDE is not worth it. See the value of that person in front of you now and let not Pride have a place in you at all times and circumstances. Shalom everyone.

#EsteemOthers #ComplimentNotCompete 📖

Sort:  

Thanks @bayanihan and @deveerei. Its truly an honor. Shalom to your team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70