You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Results And Conclusions

in #prepping6 years ago

Had I not been fat, the calorie dearth would have presented a problem.

Did you feel at any time that the calorie deficiency was eating at your muscles, instead of fat?

Related to the diarrhea, my stools were far less frequent than beforehand.
I winder how much fat is part of the meals; I would think very little. Also, you were eating far less bulkier food than your normal diet.

It suggests that preppers will have an energy edge in a real SHTF situation because they're already prepared for the eventuality.

For preppers, consider the amount of stress you will be dealing with in those first days. Thankfully, you'll be in a better place mentally than those who didn't prepare, but stress will make a difference in energy consumption. Some people take to stress though, so YMMV. Adrenaline addicts FTW!

Good job in detailing pysch effects; we need to remember these will be magnified in SHTF sitauations!

Congrats on the weight loss! Thanks for the shout-out and the prep test~!

Sort:  

Thank yourself!

Did you feel at any time that the calorie deficiency was eating at your muscles, instead of fat?

No. When I had to do something physical like snow shoveling, I wasn't dragged down at all. If there were some of that, it was subtle and unnoticeable.

Can't say what would happen over two months, but for the month I was drawing down fat.

Good to know; one of the assumptions I have is that calorie deficits attack muscle first. I must have read something wrong there, or remembered it wrong!

De nada ;)

I'm sure what you read is true if you're buff or don't have much fat on your bones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56