A surprising fact about prepping and first aid kits.

in #preppinglast year (edited)

I learned something from my sister on first aid kits recently, when I sent her this:
IMG_20230209_172024407.jpg
She showed me her first aid kit, and it had; Band-Aids, triple anti biotic ointment, decongestant, and laxatives. She had no idea why she would add gauze, pads and tape! I realized that she didn't know how to use these...she is planning to just go to the doctor.

The hundreds of pounds of bulk herbals, are just so much compost; if their uses are unknown. I believe that food and medicine will be used to control the servant population; and it will happen soon! Learn one new herb a week, and it will change your life. Western medicine is rapidly becoming a secondary source for medical treatment for me, because herbals work so much better!

Without knowledge, a prepping first aid kit like mine, is a waste of cash! I have a tackle box full of essential oils that would be useless to her. The surgical (MASH hospital kit) kit I bought would not help her either. The Geiger counter, dosimeters, and iodine; would also sit unused, for lack of understanding. I keep hard copy instructions with each kit, and pray I never need any of them!

But right now, information is free and easy; and we should be digging daily, to learn as much as possible...just in case. Please remember that if you don't have it hard copy, you won't have after the SHTF occurs! The internet will become at best spotty, and will likely fail entirely; so DO NOT plan on looking things up on it!

So now I know that I need to dedicate some time to teaching this sister a better level of first aid, so she can make a decent first aid kit! I better explain prepping again, so she understands that it's a matter of survival; and not just filling in a few days without power etc., expecting services to be restored quickly.

What level have you chosen for first aid at your bug out location?
Will you do:
Dental work?
Surgery?
Treatment for significant illnesses?
Broken bones?
Compound fractures?
Injuries that require stitching?
Poisonous bites?
Radiation exposure?
Treating for bad food?
Diarrhea?
Gunshots?
Malnutrition?
Diabetes?

The level you decide upon, may be a matter of life and death; and will certainly affect your freedom! Any suggestions on the list, are there some I've missed? Do you think any of them are too much to do on a homestead?

I helped a Lady in Venezuela get a family member out of the local hospital, and bring him home to heal or die. In the hospital his wound had gone septic, due to overloaded staffing! She got him home, removed the stitches, cleaned the wound, and butterflied it shut, under a plantain police. I had her make some colloidal silver using a car Battery to add to the dressing, and take internally. He healed up well, and was able to help collect food in about 3 months.

When the current spending drives us under, causing a SHTF breakdown, this will happen to our medical system here pretty quickly! So get ready, a loved one's life may depend on what you know.

I'm currently working on improving my dental capability to include basic fillings, should be interesting!

What are you adding?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64