February Seedlings

in #prepping6 years ago (edited)

It's the end of February and I'm running behind!

I've got to get these seeds started.


Hello everyone!
Sashi here. It may be the end of the month but it doesn't mean I cant plant my seeds for February. I decided to test my seeds this year from the Open Seed Vault Survival Garden. This kit is designed with prepping in mind and I plan on testing it to see how well they grow, how good the food grown tastes, and seed recovery for the following year.

If you would like one of these kits for your preps, or if you are trying to source heirloom seeds, you can purchase them on Amazon, Ebay, and Etsy. They even have an Herb Garden Kit (Amazon).

collageseds.png

These are heirloom seeds, and come in individual labeled packets in a vacuum packed bag. 32 varieties of seeds and a manual that tells you when and how to plant them. The back of the manual even tells you how to save seeds for the next season.

collageseeds2.png

To get my seeds started I went and bought a hexagonal seed starting tray and some seed starting mix from the local Home Depot.

collageseeds3.png

All the seeds I could plant for February could be planted at the depth of a quarter inch. A clicky pen makes quick work of that.

collageseeds4.png
collageseeds5.png

Once I planted the seeds I labeled the tray so I would remember what was planted and then placed them next to the window to make friends with my rutabaga sprouts. For February I'm planting beefsteak tomatoes, broccoli, onion, bell pepper, and lettuce (all 3 species).

20180218_142000.jpg
(One of many starting trays)

Now to prepare for March and decide if I want to do a traditional or hydroponic garden this year. I'll keep you updated as things progress.

Thanks for stopping by! If you like what you have read, please upvote, promote, and share!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sashidegodeshi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great article and looks like a good quality batch of seeds... Would make a great gift too for anyone either starting their own crops or for homesteaders or preppers growing their own.
May even consider it myself....

I like the seeds being in a set pack like that, it saves from having to decide from and source all the different seeds - and their heirloom! I have to get started on my seeds too :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sashi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 36.68% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @jackdub! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Looking forward to seeing how they grow :)

Congratulations @sashidegodeshi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32