Food storage ideas

in #prepping7 years ago

Hello, people of steemit!
I wanted to show you a couple of the ways that I store dry foods. This probably isn't anything new for some of you, but perhaps someone who sees these pictures will get a few ideas from them.

First, I store boxes of crackers in a cleaned out cat litter bucket. The bucket keeps everything dry and protected from damage and rodents. The lids on these are not airtight, but they should keep the bugs out.
DSCN7745.JPG

DSCN7746.JPG
I need to get a couple more boxes of crackers to replace my stock.

I also use 5 gallon buckets with gamma lids on them. I bought my lids and buckets at the orange big box store. I use them to store dry foods that come in bags, such as pasta, beans, and rice. Here's the bucket with the lid on.
DSCN7747.JPG

With the lid unscrewed. These lids have an airtight seal.
DSCN7748.JPG

I also store rice in these buckets. I have most of a 50 pound bag in this bucket. I didn't put in any oxygen absorbers in this bucket because I use the rice from this bucket.
DSCN7749.JPG

That's it for this post, I hope it gave you a couple of ideas for food storage.

Thank you for reading my blog!
If you like my content, follow me for more like this.

Sort:  

The cat litter buckets are a good idea!

Hi @preppin-for-real, just found you through the HomesteadSlackers Slack group. Welcome aboard!

You might be interested in the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit to make connections with like-minded folk :

I'll add you to the list if that is okay with you?

Yes, you can add me to the list. Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amberyooper(all about that bass) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I use containers made by waterbrick : http://www.waterbrick.org/ I just love those containers so much : I had to get them through a local dealer cause they don't ship outside USA otherwise prices are stupid on Amazon. Also do use some big whey protein box to store pasta for short term. usage.

Thanks for the link!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53