Sort:  

You got that right @outwalking! I did the same to mine ~ radios, HDs, external drives, solar generator, backup laptop, & electrical test eqpt. Got any more ideas? (Upvoted & following for your comment - thanks!)

Thank you. I did come across this article on how to use a metal garbage can as a Faraday cage. All you need to do is get one of those metal garbage can (usually galvanized metal) and solder a wire (probably a heavier gauge - maybe a 1.0 - not sure). Cover it after you put the stuff in. They suggest to put a blanket or some kind of padding. Note: regarding the grounding wire, I figure a 1.0 should carry around 100 amps. But I have no idea how many amps will be released on an emp. If you are interested, check an AWG wire gauge chart to see what gauge of wire will carry how many amps. Sounds like you have quite a bit to protect. Maybe a garbage can is too small. I hope this helps.

Thanks for the suggestions. Yes, I've read that a galvanized can should do the trick. I also found this awhile ago from "Reality Survival":

I have a few copper mesh bags I bought a few years ago from "Solutions From Science": http://www.solutionsfromscience.com/product/emp-super-shield-solar-panel-bag/

Never tested them yet! Hope I don't have to!

Nice find, I saw that one too. I further read an article having to do with the size of the holes in the mesh and how that may or may not be effective. It was saying that there is a relationship between the length of the wavelength (of the EMP) correlates to size of the hole in the mesh. I don't remember the ratio between the hole size and the wavelength for the mesh to be effective. I will see if I can find the article and I will send you a link. But in a nutshell, if the ratio is not correct the mesh will be ineffective in protecting against the EMP. Another monkey wrench was how can you determine the wavelength of the EMP, this is another unknown. So the best solution I arrived at was to use solid metal (conductive) panels to build the cage and ground them at several points. This solution is definitely more cost restrictive. Final note. If you are successful in safe guarding your (say cell phone or radio) and no one else does, to whom are you going to be able to call or listen to. This is very pessimistic because I'm believe that they're at least a few others that are thinking the same way as you do and will have a working cell or radio transmitter. I will look for that article. Have a good day.

I couldn't find the article I initially spoke of but I did find another that discusses the holes in the mesh. Here's the link.
http://survival-mastery.com/diy/construct/how-to-build-a-faraday-cage.html
I hope this helps.

Hey thanks. That site's worth bookmarking. There's a lot of useful content there!

Your welcome. I think they show you how to make a tin foil hat also. That's just a joke. The funny thing is that back when I was in high school and pyramids where all the rage, I did make a pyramid hat and I still flunked all my tests. Have a nice day.

HA! Bet your teacher is looking for your essay on how to make theirs now! "What goes 'round, comes 'round!"

I think you're right. I guess they are now 'retro'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61968.29
ETH 2501.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66