Different Emergency Food Companies

in #prepping7 years ago

When I first started prepping I was so overwhelmed by all the different emergency food companies that were out there. To name a few:
~Auguson Farms
~Mountain House
~Wise Food Company
~Emergency Essentials
~Honeyville
~Hoosier Hill Farm
~Lindon Farms

I wasn't sure what would taste good, what was worth the money, or how well packaged the food was. As usual I turned to YouTube for help. I watched sooo many reviews by several Preppers. I also did price comparisons.

I realized that Auguson Farms was the cheapest if you buy it at Walmart.com. As much as I hate Walmart I couldn't pass up there prices.
IMG_1321.JPG

I also invested in several packs of Mountain House. They had great reviews and my husband took some on a camping trip and enjoyed them. That motivated me to buy more. There are so many dishes to choose from. I store them in food grade buckets in the corner of our pantry.
IMG_1323.JPG

I'll be ordering buckets of Lindon Farms freeze dried fruits soon to add to my preps. They have great reviews by Preppers. The buckets are expensive but I recently discovered them on Walmart.com and Amazon. ALWAYS CHECK EVERY FEW DAYS BECAUSE PRICES CHANGE!
IMG_1326.JPG photo from Pinterest

The one company that CONSTANTLY received POOR reviews was Wise Food Company. Because of this I have not and probably will not purchase anything from them.
IMG_1325.JPG Picture from Pinterest

Now there is a new company called Thrive:
IMG_1324.JPG Picture from Pinterest

I want to try this but every review I find on YouTube is from someone who is selling it. So naturally they are going to say it's good. I want an honest review not one for sales. If any of you have tried it and aren't selling it please let me know what you think.

I hope this post will help you to research the different companies for yourself and compare prices. It's never to late to start prepping 👍🏻

BE SMART BE PREPARED BE READY

Sort:  

I use Thrive Foods (and don`t sell it.)
It is very high quality.

Thank you! What would you recommend someone to try out first? I love all fruits and veggies except mangos and that's just because I'm allergic to them.

Honestly, the item that I use the most and can't live without is the Tomato Powder.
I rehydrate it for tomato sauce, tomato paste or tomato juice.
To me it saves the most money, because buying cans of tomato sauce gets pretty expensive and the dehydrated is healthier than the canned as well. A little powder goes a long way.

I also find the celery, onions and green peppers very useful,
because I grind them up into a powder and put them in spaghetti sauce (along with the tomato powder) and the children LOVE it. If I chop up bits of veges they try to pick them out of the sauce, but they don't even know that they are there this way.

I will have to try those then. I appreciate your review thank you so much 😊

Great post and thx for the great info. I just found a swedish side like this and orded my first emergency food :0)
Followed upvoted resteemed

Thank you! Awesome 👍🏻

:0) Its always good to meet new people and get good tips. Have a great day

Yes it is! Thank you! Have a great day 🤗

Ur welcome :0) have a great day ♡

Good post and Great info for everyone!
Also a few to check that I have purchased from:
Mountain house-Saratoga farms- you mentioned that.
MRE Depot- http://www.mredepot.com/servlet/StoreFront
Valley food storage- https://valleyfoodstorage.com/
Resteemed
#thl

Thanks! I wanted to order MREs but didn't know where to get them. 👍🏻

Word of advice. The MRE Depot runs specials on things they get in. Most of the time you won't even know about it in time unless you get on the mailing list. They will email you with specials that they are having and most of the time they go super quick. Usually it's on new military overruns of food like freeze dried chicken or steaks. I bought sirloin steaks from them before and from all the reviews they are top notch. Hope this helps.

Ok great! Thanks for letting me know. I appreciate that 🙂

We have gotten some from Emergency Essentials in the past. Their powered milk is really good when cold, and I'm not a milk fan. We also got some basil and cinnamon I'm using now. Very high quality. Unfortunately I can't remember what else we got, and I'm too comfy in my recliner to go look right now. :) Is been four years or so since we ordered. I know the prices then were good, or we wouldn't have ordered. Thank you for posting this. We need to be thinking about this again.

Thanks for letting me know about the milk. It's on my list to get I wasn't sure which company to go with. But at this time it looks like Emergency Essentials has more for less money 👍🏻

You're welcome! We got the milk pitcher they have, as well. It has a handle with a paddle that you pump up and down to mix it well and aerate it. I think at the time it was around $6 or so.

So, what were the reviews like for Wise? I have not done any research yet on these type of preps because I have been prepping my own. But I have slowed down quite a bit due to health reasons so maybe picking some of this up to supplement would be a good idea.

Several reviews stated the food was very gross. That for less money you could get better food from other companies. I believe I just seen a commercial that offered free samples from Wise so I'm going to look into that and try for myself. If I do I'll definitely let y'all know what I think.

@mylilhomestead thanks for letting me know. Yes, I would be interested in what you think if you do try it. Seems there are a lot more companies out there jumping on the pepper band wagon, hard to know who would be the best, LOL

Great post!

I have never tried Augason Farms but have been curious about how good they are.

I routinely buy Honeyville. I have tried a couple of the Thrive fruits, but found the Honeyville's mangoes tasted WAY better than Thrive, and Honeyville's pineapple is amazing right out of the can. I bought the Thrive through Costco and have yet to try all the things I purchased so I cannot make much of a comparison. I have tried quite a bit of the Honeyville products and have been pretty pleased with most of it. Though not all the ones they sell are organic, most of them are non-GMO. Their organic freeze dried corn even is and it is also quite tasty right out of the can, as are their carrots.

One thing I like about Honeyville is their $5 flat rate shipping no matter how much you buy. I get their 50 lb bags of organic hard white wheat berries, so this saves me a lot. Plus, I always wait until they have a 15% discount AND buy a mix and match case of the #10 cans and have literally saved well over $100 on each order I have done that with. When I compare that savings to Augason at Walmart, it often comes out to be less for the Honeyville and I can have it delivered right to my door :D

I have a list of Honeyville products I want to purchase. I feel it's best to get the 50lb bags of wheat berries or flour from them. I'm excited to try their products. 🤗

Awesome info presented here @mylilhomestead! Thanks for sharing :)

Alas in the UK we don't have so much choice. Only a couple of brands here. And I've heard Mountain House is pulling out of sales in the UK.

O no! That's not good! I hate to hear that :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59