You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SHTF Preparedness

in #prepping6 years ago

A few weeks back, I asked a question of my viewer wondering what one extra thing they would grab from home other than the family and bug out bags before heading out. One per commented that they had no plans to bug out because they had the skills they needed to stay in place no matter what happens. I plan on sheltering in place because of disabilities, however, I have plans in place that if I absolutely have to, I will bug out. Why? Because there are situations where choosing to not bug out, is guaranteed to kill you, no matter how prepared you are.

Even those who have homesteads where they can sustain themselves, doesn't mean their homestead is 100% safe. Just today, I read a post where someone who is very prepared filmed a wild fire approaching their house. No one is going to sit in their home if it is on fire.

There could be a chemical attack. Sure they are more apt to hit in bigger cities, but what happens when the car carrying to weapon to the city, crashes in your front yard.

My point is, there is no one that is 100% ready for every possibility that could arise. The minute you start think you know everything, the completely unexpected that you are not prepared from can pop up.

I know how to feed & take care of myself, but I still read posts like yours because you never know when someone is going to share info I didn't know about. Now I have to go research mouse traps because I never once thought about the possibility of using them to catch something other than rats. (is there another post from you waiting to be written, lol)

Thanks for your efforts!

Sort:  

Thank you for this comment and you are correct you cannot be 100% prepared. The unexpected can happen.

The main points of this post was to make people think about the important aspects of bugging out rather than how they will charge all their electronic gadgets during a bug out and learn to fish while they are in a high stress situation also to realise that food stores has a time limit it’s the knowledge and experience that will serve you better.

Drill a small hole in the rat trap so it can be tied down securely lol

And yes I will be doing a variety of outdoor related posts and will revisit different aspects of the bugging out/in subject.

Thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46