You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deep storage for prepping supplies should be approached logically to get the most use, for your hard-earned dollar.

in #prepping3 years ago

Your dollar store brand is a better deal for sure, but it is also mixed fruit as opposed to just strawberries. Strawberries cost more. Do you truly need a commercial source for dried fruit and vegetables? I have had luck drying my own stuff.

Sort:  

That is just the package I grabbed, the strawberries are the same weight / cost; but I have already moved them to homestead storage. I'll buy some more when they restock.

I am building a freeze dry unit, but my 'fruits' are way out in the future; so stock is difficult, but it will come!

♡♡♡♡

I hear what you are saying. I started with a hay field 3 years ago and have had to plant every tree and shrub. My best fruit crop is black currants and goji berries. One day...

The important thing is that you have started! Things Always take longer than they should. I can't transplant my fruit trees (cherry and peach) until I finish the well. I tried to move a Hawthorne, but I lost it. I am very close to a lake, and it is sandy soil; and will need bio-char and compost, with water.

My major food growing work, will be aquaponics in a wallipini (half buried greenhouse) that will use ground heat to grow year round. Still too much to do, with the way they are spending, SMH!

>:(

I also need a well and am considering a sandpoint. My land is part sandy clay loam and part sand dune, and extremely dry so a well will help. I am near an alkaline pond, that is really more of a small lake. Despite that, the soil is not too bad or too alkaline.

Exciting the wallipini. I want to build one as well. Thus far I am using cold frames. I grew a nice crop of carrots over winter, but then the frame flooded and the carrots froze! HAH! back to the drawing board.

I plan to lay 6 inch perforated pipe on the ground on the North side, and bury it when I dig the Wallipini. That way, I can use ground heat to warm it in the winter.

I will have to go down 80 feet for water, so I will go 120 feet to be sure! I plan to use water & air in a plastic drill!

♡♡♡♡♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88