Why Premade Bug Out Bags Drive Me Crazy!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #prepping7 years ago

Premade BOBs-min.png

Hey there my fellow Steemian Preppers today I wanted to share a post from my website that shines some light on these premade bug out bags and why they DRIVE ME CRAZY! You can check out the full article and the rest of my site here: http://preppersunlimited.com/premade-bug-out-bags-drive-me-crazy/

Why Premade Bug Out Bags Drive Me Crazy!

You don't have to stumble around on the internet looking for bug out bags for very long before you come across the futile premade bug out bags.

As the title implies I'm not a fan of these and for good reason too!

Most of us preppers aren't made of money so every dollar we earn we need to spend wisely. Not only that but some of us enjoy creating our own preps.

Sure they may save you some time piecing out all the gear you'll need to build your bug out bag, but is it really worth it?​

Premade Bug Out Bags Are NOT Budget Friendly!

Like I mentioned before you can find these premade bug out bags pretty easily, you'll see them advertised as a cheaper alternative to building your own most times.

This would be true except​... it's not.

​Yes you might be able to get the pack and gear up front cheaper than piecing out, but if you do your research you'll soon see that these bags are cheaply made and the gear inside them is JUNK!

​I've seen some of these bags like the Echo Sigma Bug Out Bag selling for over $600! Yes you get a SOG S62 multi-tool, a sleeping bag and a free lifestraw, but beyond that the most valuable item in the pack is a few batteries.

In my mind these are marketing techniques to make you feel like you're getting a better deal.

The SOG multi-tool and lifestraw water filter combined are less than $100, you can still get a great pack and fill it out with high quality items for under $600 for sure.

Premade Bug Out Bags Are Full of Junk Gear!

If you've taken a look at these bags you'll see that they actually offer quite an array of items.

The problem is that they are almost all cheaply made.

If you're in a bug out scenario are you willing to trust those items with your life? That's what you'll have to do if you buy one.

I don't think I can trust the bags themselves let alone the items inside them. I just feel better knowing that I personally chose the items for my bag, because I know they work (I've tested them).

This brings me to my next point. You'll often times spend more money replacing gear that's broke or doesn't work than if you just bought something of descent value to start with.

Not to mention these bags are in no way tailored to you specifically. They are mass produced to cover a wide range of needs for different people. This may not work for you.

You might end up using half the gear (then replacing it when it breaks) and not using the other half because you don't need it.

Ditch the Premade Bug Out Bag and Build Your Own Bug Out Bag!

If you're wanting to buy a premade bug out bag I appreciate the fact that you want to be prepared and understand the times that we live in.

I can't stress to you enough though that you should build your own bug out bag. If you're a beginner and a little lost, that's ok so were we at one point. We've put together a free starter guide just for you!

The bottom line is that you need to put the time, effort, and money into something​ that you can stake your life on and trust the items inside. So do your research and look at some high quality bug out bags and invest in gear you know works.

Conclussion

I hope you enjoyed reading this article I think it is something pretty important that needs to be addressed more so people know that there are better alternatives to these premade bug out bags. Be sure to check out our article covering some of the best bug out bags on the market to help you get an idea of quality bags and download our free starter guide to get started building your very own bug out bag.

Sort:  

Good post. People need to be informed of the options out there and not be taken. Thanks for sharing.
If you are interested in a group to join, please look to my blog and click on "The Homestead life" or the one below that about "Joining a community". The homestead life is all about community, homesteading, survival and many other things that you also seem to be interested in. We are a group of like minded people that look out for one another in here and we upvote each others work and efforts to help each other out. Great group. Come check it out or contact me @saved4newlife . I am a prepper in Virginia myself! Thanks.

Checking it out now! Thanks a lot I appreciate it

Where do I go to find this group? I'm having troubles locating it @saved4newlife

https://steemit.com/thl/@thehomesteadlife/5lscog-join-a-community-on-steemit
Leave message for Graham and let him know I sent you! :) Tell him you would like to join if you want to.

Awesome thanks a lot I just did it!

Nice post. I just Followed you. Please follow me.

Thanks! Sure thing.

Agree with ya brother. Why not make your own bag for cheaper and still get what you want? Too much money down the drain. And like you said half the gear would probably never be used. Craziness. Lol

Exactly! A bit of a waste in my opinion. Like @preppers said everyone has there own needs so why not make a more bag tailored more to you for less cost?

Definitely brother! One of my first videos show kind of what's in my bag! And I bought it all and put it together myself! Plus there are other factors to take into account! If you are bigger maybe you can carry more than someone who is 110 lbs soaking wet. You never know man what you may need, so why not make the most of your bag?

Yep totally agree that's funny you mention you made a video about what's in your bag because I was thinking about making a post like that! Oh and I think I followed most of the obvious preppers in your followers list. 👍 👍

Hey man. Go ahead and make that post brother. It's always good to have multiple people post stuff like a BOB video. May bring new things to the table for others. There's a lot of good people here man. I know you'll love it!

Awesome I might go ahead and make that post then. Thanks man 👍

Heck yeah man! Can't wait to see it! 😀

I highly recommend building your own bug out bag. Everyone's needs are different. Each person should custom build their own bag to their own needs. I have upvoted and resteemed this post. #prepper helping #preppers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43