FOOD STORAGE 🍚 RICE

in #preppers7 years ago

I believe that most Preppers start off with storing rice. I mean as soon as I "woke up" I went straight to the store and bought several boxes and 10lb bags before I realized I could buy it in bulk. I now buy 20lb bags at Sams Club because I can't pass up the price-$6.37! IMG_1476.JPG

Now, I store my rice among other dry goods different ways.

*mason jars
*mylar bags in buckets
*food saver bags in dark tubs

I figure that if I'm already storing up mason jars why not have food in those jars. (I do keep extra on hand at all times for emergency canning) Mylar bags in buckets for long term storage and food saver bags in dark buckets or tubs for short to long term storage.
IMG_1477.JPG

❗️Always store long term food in DARK containers even if they are in a bag ❗️ Sunlight is the enemy 🌞

Thanks for reading!
💡Remember you can buy prepackaged long-term food storage but it can be expensive.

IMG_1464.JPG

IMG_1405.PNG IMG_1404.PNG IMG_1403.PNG

Sort:  

I grab the bags of organic rice from Costco and put them in half gallon mason jars under my bed. I rotate through them for normal use, feels good to have a little extra food stocked away too.

It sure does! Thanks for reading!

Thanks for reminding me to get more rice. It's a great food to stock up on and you can use it in so many dishes as you rotate. Good tips about storage. I always have peanut butter, canned tuna, those weird Vienna sausages for those rural power outages that happen when storms come and trees topple.🐓

O yes gotta have peanut butter and we have those little cans of beenie weenies. My husband and son love them.

That is a very good price for rice. We shared this post on the APN facebook page a few days ago, a lot of people were interested in this.


Fellow Steemians, please support @mylilhomestead with your REAL comments and an upvote. I will randomly select one of your comments for a 100% Upvote

supportauthor.gif

Thank you so much for your support 😊

Congratulations @mylilhomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those big bags of rice are pretty hard to pass up! My husband has recently been stockpiling soy sauce because he says that it would be a real shame to have to eat a lot of rice without his favorite soy sauce topping. We also got brown rice so we could get a little more nutrient content out of it, but the reminder about the sunlight is a good one especially for the intact whole grains which can go rancid easier.

I love soy sauce! I have a few of the BIG containers of it in my pantry :)

Got to have lots of rice and beans for the 'pocalypse! Or the Steempocalypse lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94