A treat from the quail coop, with a little help from my steamer, LOL!

in #prepper3 years ago

I pulled in some of my quail eggs and put them in the steamer just to try them out as steamed eggs. It really worked well, I was able to cook about 30 of them in my steamer

Here's what that looked like:
20210501_202746.jpg
I cook them under Steam for about 20 minutes because I find with eggs steam loosens the shell and you can't overcook them using steam!

The eggs are small but they taste very good. The giant Quail that I have began laying in less than 2 months, and they lay at least one egg a day.

I intend to keep about 30 laying hens and the quail, and I'm going to raise about half of the laid eggs. This will allow me to release the significant population to clean up the ticks.

The eggs are about 1/3 or 1/4 the size of a hen egg depending on size obviously, but with the number they lay that shouldn't be a problem. You do have to open the eggs using a quail egg cutter or a see them open with a knife, in order to cook them.

This is what it looks like when you peel one:

20210501_234323.jpg
I feel that ate about half a dozen I'll have some more in the morning, and they are certainly worth the trouble!

One more step towards self sufficiency, and it will provide a protein source later.

So, do you think the liberals in DC will outlaw meat; as they have promised to do? Will I become a quail felon?

Sort:  

They've already essentially outlawed thinking. Why not outlaw eating meat?

I love this idea to raise quail to reduce ticks. Is there a specific breed for this? I vaguely remember something about red quail being especially good for tick control.

This breed is the giant quail. They are better because they are not a regulated local species. A bob white quail matures slower, and requires a license to raise them since they are considered 'game birds'.

They are arrogant tyrants in DC for certain!

Keep prepping, and be safe....

♡♡♡♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80