You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Back From Camp!

in #prepper7 years ago

Can't say I'm a huge fan of organized retreats like that but I get that outside of the military there's no real good way to for new survivalists to get started and learn the ropes. How much did the ticket run you?

Sort:  

$52 for the entire weekend.
If you RSVP quick enough, you can get a RV site or a regular site, else you stay in Tent city. That wasn't very pricey either. I think the entire 3 night RV hookup was $125.

In comparison, I go to the local gun and knife show and it costs me $10-15 just to walk around.

Survivalists are another thing, not the same as self-reliance. I see survivalists as people who could be dropped in anywhere and make their way out. This is focused on people setting up a location for living or going to during TEOTWAWKI. Like homesteading, but the added parts of getting off grid and preparing for bad things.

The price is definitely right for an event of that length. I was thinking it'd be a few hundred as typical of a convention, which this technically is in a way. They're probably keeping the cost down by not paying the speakers as you mentioned and not going through all the bullshit of lining up sponsors who have to be appeased through promotion kickbacks.

I'm personally used of thinking of it as one and the same but that's the army background there talking. It's the survivalist mentality in every situation/location. Definitely there's plenty of value to just being around those who teach getting away from relying on the gov't and utilities for everything plus learning some actual skills to make that happen.

Yes, Rick and Jane wanted to get away from the typical convention types. They basically charge enough to cover the costs of all the rentals to get things setup. Volunteers help get things setup and taken down.

As long as you don't use "sustainable", I'm okay with whatever you call it. ;)

LOL sustainable green holistic lifestyle empowerment?

Ugh... I can just smell the patchouli off of that comment.

Also, they only sell 1,000 tickets.
So, you don't have over crowded tents where you can't see the demonstrations or hear the speakers. I think I overheard that the Wild Edibles speaker walked around 100 people for one of his classes to show them the edibles at the camp.

More than I thought, now that makes sense. Were there any issues with managing this many people in the off-time?

No. The classes go from 8 am to 6:30 pm, with an hour or so lunch break in the middle. Then there are the 2 night speakers on Friday and Saturday. There are vendors, half of which are the speakers. Apparently some of the vendors from last year went out of business due to people thinking everything is okay now and of course, Amazon.

I think now that several hurricanes in a row hit, business will be booming.

Well, you would think, but those who only did prepping because they thought FEMA was going to round them up, probably weren't serious in the first place.

I notice there's a growing crowd who have zero understanding of emergency preparedness and stay in their homes because they think that FEMA will round them up into "tax slave concentration camps". Reminds me I've been meaning to do a post about FEMA.

Well, I'll have to give you a follow to see that one.

Just need to pull some resources, won't take long. Short and sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50