Using less Plastic

in #prepper7 years ago

One of the things we have been working on is getting away from using plastics in our little home, and I just found a great video from Homesteading Family, on How to make beeswax wrap!

I cannot wait to try this!!!

If you have any ideas, tips etc on how to remove plastic from our lives...please post it under #lessplastic

Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

I got to the point where she has a huge block of wax. This is too way far out of the game for me BUT the local pantry sells it so I might just try it out.

Thanks for putting beeswax wrap back in my radar.

Oh, keep watching...she switches to pellets which are far easier to work with, and only needed like 1/2 C for two large wraps.

Thats great to know. I checked out the beeswax wraps again today and they are expensive!

Yes they are...Way cheaper to make them :)

Thank you @elew... also trying over here so thanks for the video

I remember we were talking about it before...I keep looking for alternatives because people lived for thousands of years before plastic. I am always amazed how quickly we loose how to info, just a couple generations and poof!

I will try to keep using #lessplastic as a tag so we can hopefully find the posts again.

How damn cool! I never would have thought of something like this, I can't believe that the beeswax doesnt crumble off when you crumple or crease it!

Love that you can spend an hour or so and have these all sorted for tons of uses!

Right? I am excited to give it a try :) I like that they can just be reheated too, so add a bit more wax and good to go again.

I would probably make some thin leather bands with snaps that fit our containers too, so fold down the edges then stick a band on it to hold it well.

Oh I like that! I'm surprised to see that it melts and forms just with body heat-Yet another reason Id love to keep bees one day!

Me too :) I have even considered putting a platform rack off the bumper of the RV and setting up one hive with a little bee garden on either side. But, I don't think the RV parks would like it. Though, maybe they would if we payed Bee rent in honey ;)

Psh they'd be silly not to get paid in liquid gold!! I don't know much about having them mobile like that- do you think it would work? I thought they had to orient themselves to their surroundings to make honey throuhout the season- or maybe that was just my impression...

I am not sure. We are usually in one, or two places, more seasonal than travelers...and I know people truck bees all over the country to pollinate crops, so I would have to really research it. Also how they would do being so close to the wall. I know most people keep them a ways away from their home, I think they might need some peace. Alot to learn!

Absolutel! They're so fascinating to me. There are some awesome beekeepers here on steemit! @bushkill would know for sure

Moving bees is not a huge problem, it will set them back a little, but if only a couple times a year I wouldn't be concerned. I would also not be concerned with putting them on the back of an RV, the only thing to consider is you don't want their flight path to coincide with people path. Accidental collisions would lead to stings. Of course a temporary barrier, like a snow fence can be put a couple feet in front of the hive which would make them fly up and over out of humans way. Neat idea, a little conventional, but surely doable. Many beekeepers move their hives to different crops through the year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50