You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preppers of SteemIt! Did you know you can earn certifications through FEMA for FREE?

in #prepper7 years ago (edited)

I think I might not want FEMA to know where to find me, or who I am if SHTF. I think you can get alot of free EMT and other basic training like CPR and things directly through your local fire dept, but it might be different in each area?

Though I do agree, it could be helpful to know their operation plans...

Sort:  

that's an excellent point. I don't like the idea of registering with them, either. From the bit of poking around i did, it looks like all the coursework is accessible without needing to register. Registration seems to be required only if you want the certificate (which some employers require).

They have been doing training in football fields here in CO, hundreds of people, on how to handle mass casualties from biochemical warfare.

I know it will be good for the masses, especially if there are biohazards. It will keep the fear level down and all...but then I also recall New Orleans, where FEMA blocked everyone into the area, with no incoming food, medical or anything.
Some people might be good at helping, but for me, part of prepping is to drop off grid.

I could help others some because I know alot of basic emergency med stuff, but I would be far from the FEMA happenings and chaos.

Wow! I think the plague & chemical probabilities scare me the most. I don't have any desire to head off to the front line in the event of a disaster, but I do want to know how to help my neighbors and I feel like I'm lacking in this area right now. From what I understand, FEMA has come a long way from the disaster that was the Katrina effort and they really learned from it and have made a lot of improvements since then. Ted Koppel covers this in his book Lights Out, which discusses cyberattacks on our electric grid resulting in blackouts.

Interesting, I had not heard of his book, but you know now I will have to read it ;) I really hope they have learned since then. I think it would take the other side of WWIII for me to believe it though, haha.
It is always good to learn as much as we can. My weak area is firearms...I have no clue how to hunt, so that is what I need to work on.

I hope so too though preparing and follow-through are two different animals and I don't have any faith in the govt to actually do what it says it's going to do. I think you'll enjoy the book, it's written by a renowned journalist and I felt he gave a great, unbiased analysis of the whole situation.
I am not keen on firearms, either. We have guns and I still have not learned to use them because I feel skittish. If all else fails, some small animal traps and a BB gun for squirrels and rabbits works, too. And don't forget fishing, that totally counts!

And fishing I can do :) I look forward to reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66