Prepper Fire Starting Series - #1 Steel Wool

in #prepper6 years ago (edited)


Hello Folks,

Here is the first of a short series of videos to supersede the collection I uploaded to YouTube last year (2017).

In this demonstration, I attempt to ignite fine steel wool (and in turn cotton wool) by means of the 'flint n steel' method.

I hope you find the footage educational as well as entertaining.

Bye for now,

EggMeister.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very interesting. I like how you made a striker out of a file and welded a handle. B/F would do something ingenious like that.

Old workshop files are a hidden treasure. I scour old bric-a-brac shops for rusty, unloved ones and then give them a renewed sense of purpose. I cut them into sections and then have them soak in white vinegar for 2-3 days to remove all traces of rust. The wider files don't need a 'handle' but this one did otherwise I'd loose my knuckles with the razor sharp flint lol.

Glad you enjoyed it :)
I'll be uploading more from yesterdays antics over the coming days.

I didn't know soaking rusty parts in vinegar removes rust. Good to know.

Yeah, after a couple of days or so you are left with completely bare metal :)

(....and yellowy/orange vinegar ;)

Awesome little tip and I like the little tool you made bud :) keep the dtubes coming.

Thank you matey :)
Flint n steel requires a little more preparation and work than a Ferrocerium rod (Firesteel) but a piece of high carbon, hardened steel (such as a workshop file) could potentially last multiple generations.

I'll be uploading 3 more in the Fire Starting Series videos either/or tonight and tomorrow as long as the queues on Dtube don't crash the uploader.

Good stuff man, I love that striker.

Cheers bud, do you have flint n steel as part of your kit?

Not flint and steel but I got lots of other options, the usual suspects.

Would you like a little kIt?

My treat,....... a lump of steel, some flint and a dollop of char?

No, it's ok thanks. I've just started my clearout of stuff. Hop on Discord when you next free though, need to know what logo you want shown for your episode on the episode thumbnail :D

Just got home, a bit of 'housekeeping' on steemit then I'll hit Discord ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65399.87
ETH 2939.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66