Testing The Isiler Portable Induction Cooktop

in #preparedness6 years ago

Ever since the week long power outage that accompanied hurricane Irma last year, I have been attempting to set up systems to provide at least a modicum of comfort if, or should I say when, such a thing happens again.

The first step was to set up a solar system.

I had access to a lot of old hardware from my rigging shop including an old 26 foot spinnaker pole. So I decided to set up a rotating and tilting 400 watt system that I could lower in case of severe weather.

I buried and cemented an old boom into the ground and set the spinnaker pole next to it in a way that allows it to rotate. With the help of an old winch, I can lower and raise it by myself. But I usually ask for help just to be on the safe side.

A customer gave me a couple of used 400 watt wind generators around this time, so I added one of them to the top of the pole too.

I purchased two new 12 volt AGM batteries and a 2500 watt inverter from Harbor Freight to complete the system.

I have been very happy with the way it has worked out. So far it's been through some pretty strong winds and seems to handle it fine.

Mostly it runs a small top opening freezer which is set on a timer to only run for short periods of time every hour or two so that it acts as a fridge. It also runs the 12 volt variable speed water pump which supplies the house with rain water from my tanks. (I decided while I was at it that I might as well get off fluoridated city water too).
I usually have plenty of power to use for things like the washing machine, vacuuming and things like that during the day when the sun is shining.

I also had a 10 hp Yanmar diesel that I had been storing for over a decade since closing a marine consignment shop that I once operated. So, I decided to set up a generator system.

I found an old, inoperable hospital refrigerator at my favorite scrap yard and dropped it into my backyard next to my man-cave. I purchased a 7500 watt generator from Central Georgia Generator for a tad over 500 bucks and with a little, (actually quite a bit of), help from my friends, spent a frustrating month or two figuring out how to make it all work together.
So, I am able to back feed the house if the need arises and perhaps, (haven't tried it yet), even run the AC.

Here is a video that shows the systems;

and the wind generator;

And lastly, in my ongoing attempts to save money and be prepared, I decided to try an induction cook-top. Here is a video where I tested one that I just purchased from Amazon for less than 40 dollars. I am really impressed with induction.

I have also set up some simple systems like an out-door solar heated shower, solar power and a small 12 volt fridge for the man-cave. But that's pretty much the main stuff.

I will continue to strive to become more prepared and self-sufficient as time passes because I hate wasting food and being miserable in the Florida heat and humidity. Mostly I hate being at the mercy of others. Whether it's the power company or the government.

Sort:  

Good post, I am also debating some solar or a solar generator. I wish I could pull off a wind generator but I think my HOA would have a fit.

The wind generator does whine a bit when it get really wound up. But I don't find it annoying. So far my neighbors don't seem to have a problem with it.
I have no HOA thankfully.

Congratulations @stevesmith! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16