In The Good Old DayssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #preparedness7 years ago

Cooler weather gets me thinking more about the "Good Old Days". In them days we did everything by "hand". There was plenty of work to do. The fall harvest including canning around three hundred quarts of vegetables. Ahh the days of homemade bread, meat that you gotten yourself, mashed potatoes, fresh garden vegetables and the like.

1019170758-00.jpg

Getting the wood cut for the winter was a job I liked better than all that canning. I likes using the axe better than the crosscut saw. The saw required two to operate and if one didn't carry his "load" the other got wore out mighty fast.

1019170756-00.jpg

Being mostly self-sufficient it a good idea but "most" of us anymore would be lost without Walmart and such places. Sometimes I think I would like to live that way again but it is a fleeting thought. I do like my electricity, inside potty, automatic heat and such like. How many remember the Dolly Parton song, In the Good Old Days (When Times Were Bad)? Thank for reading.

Sort:  

Firewood makes me feel warm and cozy.

@pastorike
I have been on the opposite end of the crosscut saw many times.
And I am very familiar with the ax.

Francis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88