Importance of a doula and a birth plan in pregnancy

in #pregnancy6 years ago

0DC56773-21FF-4355-8AD3-C6EBB814A3D2.jpeg

After I found out I was pregnant, I immediately booked an appointment with my midwife and a naturopathic doula.

A naturopathic doula supports the pregnant woman and couple throughout labor and can employ naturopathic modalities such as acupressure/ acupuncture or homeopathy for pain relief. She can also prescribe herbs to help with induction or lactation. In addition, she can help a woman and her partner make decisions for their birth plan and provide information on interventions.

This is just a snippet of the birth plan that my naturopathic doula, husband and I discussed to prepare for labour. A birth plan helps the couple become informed and educated about labour and various available medical interventions. It is empowering and triggers dialogue between the couple and the healthcare providers.

Birth doesn’t always go according to plan. But even when it doesn’t, having a birth plan in place can help guide you in important decisions and be vital to establishing good communication between you, your partner, and your care providers. As far as I can tell, that’s always a win.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47