Gestational Diabetes screening test

in #pregnancy6 years ago

According to the Canadian Diabetes Association: “The diagnostic criteria for gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM) is to begin with a 50 g glucose challenge test and, if appropriate, proceed with a 75 g oral glucose tolerance test, making the diagnosis of GDM if ≥1 value is abnormal (fasting ≥5.3 mmol/L, 1 hour ≥10.6 mmol/L, 2 hours ≥9.0 mmol/L). The alternate approach is a 1-step approach of a 75 g oral glucose tolerance test, making the diagnosis of GDM if ≥1 value is abnormal (fasting ≥5.1 mmol/L, 1 hour ≥10.0 mmol/L, 2 hours ≥8.5 mmol/L).”

1272C8A6-BBA1-4882-BF0F-888E3B0E38D2.jpeg

My midwife opted for the 1 step approach of having me do the 75g oral glucose tolerance test to screen for gestational diabetes. Usually this test is done between 24-28 weeks of pregnancy. I did this test in the morning. This required an overnight fast then once in the lab, they took my fasting glucose level. I next had to drink this orange flavoured glucose drink in 5 minutes. (I was trying to find the ingredients list on the label to find out what exactly is in this mystery drink but no luck.)

After 1 hour, I get another blood draw then after 2 hours I have my last blood drawn. I’ve read countless accounts from other moms and heard how terrible they felt during this test and how horrible the drink tasted. I talked with my own naturopath about this test and she had great advice which could apply to labour and delivery as well. All I needed was a mindset shift and to psychologically prepare myself for the discomfort and the wait. It has a purpose and whatever discomfort I experience will pass. It is temporary. I kept thinking about this prior to going to the lab and I think having this mindset shift really helped. It was not as unpleasant as I thought it would be! In fact, the drink didn’t taste as bad as I imagined and apart from feeling a little hungry and just a twinge nauseous by the end of the test, I felt fine otherwise. Mind over matter works! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94