FAMOUS DEFINITIONS OF PRAYER

in #pray7 years ago

FAMOUS DEFINITIONS OF PRAYER
By
Soughtout Emeka Matthew

IMG_1198.JPG

INTRODUCTION:

Beside the fact that prayer is communicating with God and takes different forms, and that it basically occurs when man talks with God and God talks with man.

Below are:

13 FAMOUS DEFINITIONS OF PRAYER

  1. CALLING UPON THE NAME OF THE LORD:
    Genesis 4:26 And to Seth, to him also there was born a son; and he called his name Enos: then began men to call upon the name of the LORD.

Genesis 12:8 And he removed from thence unto a mountain on the east of Bethel, and pitched his tent, having Bethel on the west, and Hai on the east: and there he builded an altar unto the LORD, and called upon the name of the LORD.

  1. INTREATING THE LORD:
    Genesis 25:21 And Isaac intreated the LORD for his wife, because she was barren: and the LORD was intreated of him, and Rebekah his wife conceived.

Exodus 8:8 & 30 Then Pharaoh called for Moses and Aaron, and said, Intreat the LORD, that he may take away the frogs from me, and from my people; and I will let the people go, that they may do sacrifice unto the LORD. And Moses went out from Pharaoh, and intreated the LORD.

  1. CRYING UNTO GOD:
    Psalms 27:7 Hear, O LORD, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me.

Psalms 34:6 This poor man cried, and the LORD heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles.

  1. DRAWING NEAR TO GOD
    Psalms 73:28 This poor man cried, and the LORD heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles.

Hebrews 10:22 Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.

  1. LOOKING UP:
    Psalms 5:3 My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

  2. LIFTING UP THE SOUL:
    Psalms 25:1 Unto thee, O LORD, do I lift up my soul.

  3. LIFTING UP THE HEART:
    Lamentations 3:41 Let us lift up our heart with our hands unto God in the heavens.

  4. POURING OUT THE HEART:
    Psalms 62:8 Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.

  5. POURING OUT THE SOUL:
    1 Samuel 1:15 And Hannah answered and said, No, my lord, I am a woman of a sorrowful spirit: I have drunk neither wine nor strong drink, but have poured out my soul before the LORD.

  6. CRYING TO HEAVEN:
    2 Chronicles 32:20 And for this cause Hezekiah the king, and the prophet Isaiah the son of Amoz, prayed and cried to heaven.

  7. BESEECHING THE LORD:
    Exodus 32:11 And Moses besought the LORD his God, and said, LORD, why doth thy wrath wax hot against thy people, which thou hast brought forth out of the land of Egypt with great power, and with a mighty hand?

  8. ASKING FROM THE LORD:
    1 Samuel 1:20 Wherefore it came to pass, when the time was come about after Hannah had conceived, that she bare a son, and called his name Samuel, saying, Because I have asked him of the LORD.

  9. PETITIONING THE LORD:
    1 Samuel 1:17 & 27 Then Eli answered and said, Go in peace: and the God of Israel grant thee thy petition that thou hast asked of him. For this child I prayed; and the LORD hath given me my petition which I asked of him:

Sort:  

Great definitions of prayer. I have learnt them today. Thanks @ sematt . I have upvoted and replied.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87