Hi I am Matt, this is why I decided to power up and become a part of this community.

in #powerup8 years ago

The Community



A few days ago I was introduced to #steemit . At first I took a sideways glance at the site full of skepticism. No way will there be good content here. It is just a money grab. These are just a few things that I thought initially. Of course there will always be those who are just looking for a fast buck. I am not proud to admit it was what initially brought me here. It isn't what is keeping me here though. If you couldn't tell from the header it is the community.

After my initial phase of how does this scam work I started to dive deeper into the posts. I realized that underneath the sticker shock of the trending posts there is more to it. We already have a lot of quality content and the backlog of things I need to get through is only building. I would ask everyone to slow down in their posts, but that isn't fair really just so I can catch up on things.

If any of you are still reading this by now you are asking yourself what does this have to do with powering up. Well I already understand the financially sound reasons to do so, but that isn't the real reason for me at least. I bought my #steem on Poloniex yesterday. I got in early and made a decent profit . I thought all yesterday on whether I should go ahead and sell before the price started to dip with upcoming craziness that is the ethereum hardfork. I decided to sleep on it.

I woke up this morning checked the price to see that it had dropped a little. I was about to sell out of steem and go back into another coin. I paused and clicked on my steemit tab. I started to read new posts. I went through some older ones. I was reading content for contents sake. I was not analyzing why it is doing so well or what I could do to capitalize on it. I was just enjoying the content. I realized I wanted to be a part of this community. So with my mind made up I transferred my steem on Poloniex to my wallet here on Steemit. Without even hesitating I powered up. The physical act of buying in even though it isn't a huge amount of money was the last step. It solidified the mental switch that had already flicked on.

When I initially came here I didn't do an introduction post. I guess I saw no reason to. I would just be a shadow. So I want to use this post as one. Transforming from a shitty steemit user to hopefully someone who can contribute value to the community.

So now for the introduction. Hi I am Matt and I use to be a shitty steemit user. I have been a performing artist for the past 12 years in some form or another. Initially I was in a band with my friends for 8 years(technically we still are a band since we never broke up). After music I starred in two independent feature films. Won a few awards for original soundtrack and best actor. Nothing major mind you, but its nice that someone appreciates your work. I have a lot of friends who are creators, artists, musicians, and writers. I hope I am able to get them to come contribute to this community with me. I reached out yesterday to four of them and they all looked at me like I was a little crazy. I believe they will come around though.

Last of all I am leaving a link to a video on vimeo of one the of guys I want on here Daniel Mccord. This is Demo reel from 2014 and if you look closely starting at the 1:05 mark I am the long haired weirdo in Lighter.


And for those of you who are skeptical some behind the scenes photos for proof.

Daniel, Ronnie, and I checking out the framing.

Late night shooting with Nikki she had to fly out the next morning. We were out there until 4 am getting the final shots.

The gentleman on the right wasn't part of the film, but we let him jump into the picture anyways. This is behind a dive bar we showed up to with no notice to grab a few shots because another location fell through. They were great sports.

I feel like there will never be a better picture of me taken ever.

A short film that I was in that Daniel Mccord shot. Daniel is also the one who took the photograph. So meta.

Sort:  

Hi nagap
Same here, I am new too
By the way good post
All the best keep up the good work

bullionstackers

Welcome! We appreciate your thoughts and look forward to creating and curating high quality content together.

Thank you. The hard part will be finding a balance between the two. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56