Trying to increase my bandwidth by powering up but it won't let me 😭steemCreated with Sketch.

in #powerup7 years ago

Is this a bug or a feature? I am trying to increase my bandwidth by powering up but it won't let me power up?!?

bandwidth.PNG

Does anyone know how long it takes for bandwidth to regenerate or which bandwidth field I should be interested in watching from steemd.com ?

bandwidth2.PNG

Sort:  

Wish I could help you out here....but I have yet to figure out what power up and power down mean!!!! Newbie steemer :)

If you earn some Steem Based Dollars (SBD) then convert them to STEEM (the main currency of this platform) you can power it up to have more influence over who earns more with your upvotes. My upvotes are worth less than 1 cent, whereas someone with 1000 STEEM Powered up will give 1 cent for an upvote. The more in your wallet the more value you can give from an upvote, there are some accounts worth hundreds of thousands and even millions (Whales). A single upvote from them and you can get tens of dollars, doesn't sound a lot but if lots of people upvote your post you can earn a decent chunk of change :]

Does it help on the return you get on your own posts?

If you upvote your own posts which you should :] then yes the more STEEM power you hold the more value your upvote will give (to yourself). If you don't upvote your own post or comments then it makes no difference.

Thanks! What is powering down? I believe you gave me some steem last week? Possibly a lot of people?

STEEM power is locked away, if you power down it takes 13 weeks to get the full amount out. So say if you have 130 STEEM power and start a power down, first week you get 10 Steem, 2nd week you get 10 STEEM etc. It is a slow release to prevent a market crash if everyone withdrew their STEEM at once and sold it on the exchanges. It also acts as a security feature in case someone has your keys and tries to steal all your funds. At least you would have time to change your keys when you notice a powerdown or a portion of your wallet is stolen.

This helped me tremendously! 🙂
You friggin rock! 🤘

I can't help you. Maybe you should mention this on github.

Waiting to see if my bandwidth increases and I can powerup if not I will do

I will be following this post to see if you get an answer, its something I never thought about or understood very much.

Would be great to have a central repository for this kind of thing or online help manual to search through

@jesta @noisy @klye @furion @felixxx any ideas on how to get round it?

Why me :D ?

You could power up from another account.

Or try delegating some SP to it from another account.

That will give you more bandwidth and should fix the problem.

Just thought about Devs who I have spoken to or helped me in the past :D

If I Power up from another account doesn't it show in the wallet who powered it up? Don't want people to link this account to another, even though it's obvious to some :]

I have no idea, who you are :D
Also, I'm a pretty amateurish dev ...

Alternatively, you could use blocktrades.us to power up your account.
Just need to move some funds from your account to a different type of wallet and from there transfer it to your BTC power up adress.

I think I know who you are !
Contact me in chat, if you need any help with your bot :)

Thanks @felixxx appreciate all the help you have been giving me, I am new to python and my coding days are past. I just tinker now and again, maybe I can buy you a glass of oil at Steemfest 2 :]

I'm new to Python myself and this is pretty much the first time I'm coding something useful.
I hope to see you at Steemfest :)

Resteeeeeeeemed 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41