What even is RPE??

in #powerlifting6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

I wanted to make a quick post a about RPE based training.

In my last post I alluded to a new (to me) training method I'm going to be trying in the near future. It's called RPE or Rate of Perceived Exertion trainin.

image

I came across it about 1/3 of the way through my last training program and I was pretty interested, even though it seemed fairly complicated. Also, I didn't want to just scrap the program I'd already started so I decided I'd give it a shot sometime this year.

So initially I'd heard about it from Russel Orhii and the reason it seemed confusing is because he wasn't trying to teach the method, he was simply vlogging about his daily training so there wasn't much time spent exploring RPE as much as just mentioning it. He has since gone into more detail because a lot of people were asking.

However, before he went into that detail, I'd come across a video by Alan Thrall where he goes really deep into what it is and the pros and cons of that type of training. I'd already been a fan of Alan because he's such a stickler for form and details so I was pretty happy to see he'd laid out this information for us in an easily digestible 2 part video. The second part is more just the math side of it so unless you're sold on it and want to start an RPE based plan tomorrow, you can probably skip that one for now.
But the first is crucial!

So rather than myself fumbling over the details and explanation like a slightly educated fool, here's Mr. Alan Thrall to explain and while you're there subscribe to his channel.

Ok everyone, I hope you got some value from this and follow those guys they're full of information, Russel's vlogs are entertaining and Alan always has some funny cut away in his videos and you learn a lot.

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97