Happy (Belated) Earthday!

IMG_5818 (1).jpg

Happy Earth Day everyone! I know I am a day late but I firmly believe EVERY day should be earth day or we are surely screwed. It is so nice to see all the environmental champions and activists posting their pictures, stories, knowledge and motivation on social media and each put their weight behind the effort that is surely monumental in importance to us all.

text15.png

I had a really proud dad moment related to this topic last week when my little one climbed onto the stage in front of her whole school and did a TED Talk about humans and the environment. I found it funny that the subjects the others covered included Baseball, How to Tell Jokes, The Importance of Friendship and the like and mine came out swinging with this statement. I like me some Dr. Suess as well but really loved that this was the second slide in her presentation. Before going into the details, it invited everyone to consume the message of the speech in the context of caring and doing something about it. Solid.

text15.png

IMG_5827.jpg

I am getting ahead of myself. Here is the first slide which also is a powerful and simple statement. I don't harp too much about the environment and our need to reduce plastics too much because it seems the more I talk, the less they listen. But worrying about whether or not it is sinking in gets soothed a little when this is the subject she chose to research and present.

She covered the plastic island the size of Texas in the Atlantic, how plastic gets into the ocean, everyday things we do that create plastic waste, and pulled no punches by showing a turtle with a plastic straw painfully stuck up its nose. It was neat to see the participation of the kids and the occasional gasp or murmur of wonder.

Even I learned something that never occurred to me. The synthetic fabrics we wear shed microfibers in the wash that drain out and make it back to the wild and never break down. I started questioning my entire wardrobe right there and then!

The moments of pride will bring me joy in knowing I am doing something right and helping inspire a steward of this planet for sure. It will not distract me from continuing the fight to continually change the habits of my family in an ongoing effort to slow the negative effect we are having on the planet until we can actually be in a position to survive and reverse the damage. It is what I can control.

text15.png

Perhaps the best part was the moment after the applause she paused on the stairs and proclaimed, "If even 1 of you works harder to protect our planet and reduce their plastic use, my time spent up here has been worth it." If I was half as smart as her at that age.......

text15.png

zekepickleman.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

YAY good for your daughter! You must be very proud! :D

You know it! I spend so much time wondering if I am ruining them and then this happens! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah! Rightly so a proud papa!
It is that raising consciously aware stewards for our earth that we stand a better chance of having a better world! Is it not true that our children who are our future? Bravo for raising an earth conscious child!
I applaud you and your daughter!

Much appreciated! Hopefully it will be an encouragement for other parents out there who spend any time wondering whether they are doing a good job. The applause all goes to her though for delivering an important message to the rest of her generation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a great post. Your daughter is how old. To already be thinking in these terms is a reflection of a child growing up in a house that fosters ideas like this, great job dad and mom. I literally got chills when I read her statement to the audience as she left the stage.
That message, coming from a kid carries so much more weight then it would if spoken by an adult.
Moments like this are so precious and will stay with us for as long as we live. @zekepickleman you and your wife had to feel extremely proud of your little princess, enjoy every second, because they grow up so fast.

Oh wow what a great comment! Gave me chills reading it too! Freshly teenaged.

Knowing how well your kids turned out this is high praise and I appreciate it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

YES! A proud dad moment for sure! Well done Sir!!

It was all her but I sure am basking in it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy Earth Day! In our country, too, we have a holiday))

It is not necessarily a holiday here but a special day for a great cause like Mother’s Day.

Good to get everyone working together for a good cause.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your little one has a good heart my friend and instead of just moaning about the waste, she is educating others about its destruction of the planet!
It was so great to read this post!
Blessings!

So glad you enjoyed it like I did. We hear so much negative news which is needed in order to motivate us to make a change.

She is a little preachy like me so it is good to see her preaching a strong and important message.

Posted using Partiko iOS

There's still hope for our next generations, thank you to your daughter!!

Thank you to you for supporting my daughters message from across the globe! Love to have your comments and support.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for sharing too!

Bravo to her for sharing such an important message! I kind of got caught up and didn't really do much to honor the day, but like you each day I try to continue to do my part to reduce my impact. I remember being shocked to learn about the laundry waste, as well. So crazy how invasive plastic is in everything! We watched a documentary about fashion called "The True Cost". It was really eye-opening and made me be much more aware of my shopping habits.

You have graduated from earth day to changing your habits every day. I have heard of “the true cost” before but have not seen it yet. I will have to with her now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You must have done a great job parenting. It is so awesome when our kids surprise us and actually incorporate what we are TRYING to teach them.
Happy Earth day (belated)

It never really feels like I am doing as well as I can except for little moments like this. I guess time will tell but I will never stop trying.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57