Staple food PowerHouseCreatives Contest

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago

This is my entry for he powerhouse creatives contest on staple food. But also I think: comfort food

IMG_0250.JPG

My first image shows toast with marmalade which I used to eat every morning before I moved on to porridge. In the UK bread is one of the staple foods although it's most usually used for snack food or sandwiches for work.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

IMG_0255.JPG

These last two years I've mainly had porridge for breakfast which is made from oats. I put a spoonful of honey and milk on the top and then mix it in well and then turn on the computer and answer my emails while I'm eating it.

There's many types of porridge and many types of topping, but oats is the most usual in the UK.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

IMG_0258.JPG

I usually have a second breakfast a few hours later when I'm feeling peckish and mostly I have and egg or two on fresh bread or toast with fried potatoes. Sometimes there's bacon in the house so I had that too.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

IMG_0257.JPG

This image shows a cheese and onion flat pasty that I have as a filler in between meals if I'm feeling hungry. It's a comfort food mainly and tastes great, in fact I most often eat it before I get back to the house, it's best when hot.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

IMG_0254.JPG

This next one is baked spuds with homus, coleslaw and broccoli. When the spuds have been baked in the over for around 40 minutes, new spuds and small are best, then I take them out and cut them in half and put butter on them with some thin cheese sliced and layered over them. Then I put the homus and coleslaw on and eat before it gets cold.

This is one of my favourite meals and I have it about once every ten days or so. It's also very easy to make and doesn't cost much. This too is a comfort food.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

IMG_0260.JPG

This one I get from the local shop. It's a chicken and rice dish and reminds me of when I was in Thailand and would eat rice with every meal and loved it too. I usually have spuds with it as they are a staple in the UK, and I usually have broccoli too as it's really good for you.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

IMG_0264.JPG

This last one is a spaghetti dish with bacon and sauce from a pack, with broccoli and new potatoes. Sometimes I put butter on the spuds.

There are lots of other meals that I have but these are some of my favourite comfort foods.

All images are mine but I've submitted two of them to pixabay.

Sort:  

Wow.. What a full pack of delicious meal. 👏👏👏

Thanks, I enjoyed all of them, pity the photos came out a bit blurred

You eat so much in one day!! :)

I do like your breakfast and I am actually going to try those spuds and hummus. That looks like I would love that!

Admittedly, I was impressed with the meal presentation. Nice job!

Good luck with the contest!

!tip

I don't eat that all in one day, but close most days. Id I don't eat I run out of energy fast. Thanks...

🎁 Hi @wales! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Slice Of Sunshine Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Very good post @wales. I like your staple food, especially the cole slaw salad.

Thank you, coleslaw goes with a lot of different foods, but most especially baked spuds

Nice to see you remembered to take your photos! Well I think you should know jam on toast is definitely high ranking in my comfort list, and of course the spuds are even higher!

Bread is one of my favourite foods, fresh is best

I just brought some fresh sourdough home from the local German bakery, so I am in full agreement there. ;)

Butter, butter YUM! Nothing like a wonderful slice of hot toasted bread with butter and an egg, definitely my comfort food on a morning where I feel a bit off. Everything you shared looks wonderful @wales, I could have it all, lol

Thanks; it is my comfort food after all

Oh, yes, toast and marmalade, not to mention oats porridge. We have them in winter, too. And I also eat mine with honey and milk. Yum!

Yes, me too, honey and milk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38