A Single Seed: Action>Intent

image.png

Lately, I'm sure a lot of us have been thinking about how we can help from afar the people we love. Instead of taking someone out to dinner, spending a night talking, or closing down the bars in your city, we've been forced to show appreciation and support in other ways. And now more than ever, there's a quote that sums up how to approach these situations:

"The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the greatest intent."

I could intend to give $100 to the charity I respect but end up forgetting or use the money for something else. I could intend to call my best friend but end up getting busy and know that I'll maybe remember tomorrow. I could intend to cook a meal for someone who's been having a rough week, but figure they probably just want to sleep anyways.

Or I could give the charity $5. I could send a quick check-up text to my friend. I could send the person struggling a gift card, or just drop off a snack. You get the point. There are so many ways to show you care about someone. So many. Even in today's quarantined world, a text message goes a long way towards showing someone you care. You've just actually gotta do it. I've been trying hard to reach out to tons of people lately through Instagram or text; coaches, old friends, old coworkers, and so on. I'm not great at this by any means, but I do believe it's an innate human quality to feel happy when you know someone thought about you enough to reach out.

In the next couple of days, what small acts of kindness could you do? Who could you text? Who could you show up for, even just over the internet? We could all use a little more connection lately. Be the reason someone smiles today.

"A Single Seed" is my attempt to get out one idea every day that I've learned or accumulated over the years, with the hope that it may stick in someone else's memory bank as well. The idea may be related to fitness, business, life, or philosophy, but I think you'll find that many can change domains if you wish them to. With each seed planted, a new life awaits.

Image credit: https://www.wallpaperflare.com/iphone-smartphone-cell-phone-mobile-technology-texting-wallpaper-alfcy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89