You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Healthy Treats | Have you ever eaten Cactus? How about Prickly Pear Shortbread!

I've had prickly pear candy before and it was one of my favorites -- years ago when there was a marvelous place in Tucson not far from where we lived called Desert Treasures that did all kinds of wonderful things with dates, coconut, etc. They had a prickly pear candy that looked -- and was the consistency of -- Knox blocks. (I think. I've never actually had those <---. ) They tasted very "cherry" -- one of my favorite flavors. I like basically anything red!

But I'll let other people deal with the fruits. Believe me, I respect cactus spines -- especially these tiny little ones so fine you cannot see them. (I just have to dig around the site with a sewing needle and hope for the best, although that usually works. ) One of those in your finger (or foot!!) will drive you wild. Not really painful. Just there -- and so annoying!! Be careful.

Sort:  

I know it's frequently used in candies and I have used it in juices but I thought making a little jam mixture on shortbread would be a nice change. You are right, those little hair like needles are awful. The first time I bought a couple I didn't have any problems but the second time was terrible...I landed several in my and just picking up the fruit! So this time, I was armed, lol gloves on! You can't get those little guys out because as you said you can't see them, crazy. Usually I'll have my husband get splinters and such out but he couldn't see anything. ugh. The gloves worked this time (quite a sight of course) do you see this cactus around NM and Arizona? I thought it would be something fun to share with everyone! (And the kids loved them...)

do you see this cactus around NM and Arizona?

All the time. They're all over the place. We have several large ones on our property -- one in the back yard (and I'm not going to move it.) It produces yellow fruit. And another one does purple. The flowers are lovely. I look forward to them every year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51