My Burger Beats Your Burger! - Tempeh Burger, Anyone?

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians :)

I keep piling new foods/recipes to share, yet I don't know when I will share them lol Most of the times, when I prepare something, I do not have exact measurement, I do not write them down, and when days long past, I would forget what ingredients I used in the cooking/baking, and so in the end, I cannot share them as there would only be pictures and steps, but no ingredients :P

But for the following burger, we make them quite often, so I know the ingredients by heart lol

My husband and I love wrapping the tempeh burger in lettuce instead served between buns by the way. The burger also great with warm rice. So quite a few varieties to serve them instead just with buns :)

Tagging @rebeccabe and @plantstoplanks (as she is the queen of tempeh), for a simple idea but oh so good meal :D

Here is the recipe, should you guys would like to give a try :D

  • 6 tempeh @150 g each
  • 1/4 c each tamari (or low sodium soy sauce would work too), maple syrup, olive oil
  • 1 tbsp of Sriracha sauce
  • 6 tsp liquid smoke
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • generous pinch of black pepper and salt to taste
  • lettuce, tomato, Vidalia onion

How To

  • Mix Tamari, sauces, liquid smoke, syrup, oil, coriander, black pepper and salt in a bowl
  • Coat tempeh on both sides in marinade, then place tempeh in shallow container, pour the marinade covering tempeh
  • Let tempeh rest for a couple of hours but best is overnight
  • Grill tempeh as well as the Vidalian onion (sliced)

And serving is of course, buns, ketchup, mustard if you like, grilled tempeh, lettuce, onion and devour! lol

But as I said, I like the burger wrapped in lettuce instead :D

We also grilled bell pepper and mushrooms, soooo heaven in a plate :D

The boys of course have their burgers in buns because it's easier for them to hold and whatnot :)

![20190610_172331_1560524492646.jpg]

Thanks for looking and holy moly time flies, TGIF! Hope yours is better than ours :)


Vote Witnesses!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=1


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

I love vegan burgers indeed

A haha. I don’t know how to share recipes either!

That picture of the kid eating the burger is super cute.

We still eat cows so I make my burgers by taking ground beef, making a ball, and smashing it into a patty. Then I add salt.

Mmmmm. I’m gonna eat burgers tonight now!

Posted using Partiko iOS

When I made meat burger before, I would also add blackpepper and a little bread flour. And in between patties, a slice of cheese 😁

Yasss! I'm glad I have tempeh in my leftovers for dinner otherwise you'd have me really craving some of these! I can never get enough. Luckily there are so many delicious ways like this to prepare it, that I don't think I'll ever get bored of it!

yes, i am never bored with tempeh too

you were meant to be Indonesian, I guess, Katie :P

Wow, very interesting variation:) i have some second thoughts about liquid smoke, i use it too and i like it a lot but i heard it kind of unhealthy.

I havent heard that. Now i have to Google 🤔

Indonesia taste 😊

Indonesia gitu loh >:D

I would love to try that. Looks so good, boys looks happy.

come give it a try, @sherylneil

I was told by a Filipina i know here, tempeh is not common in The Philippines though :)

Looks very tasty! Do I understand correctly that there is no meat here and is it vegetarian food?

yes it is :) no meat, but protein packed :)

That is the tempeh sauce that I use too :) But I have never made it as a burger. Oh, and I would definitely go with a bun, not because it's easy to hold but simply because it's a bun :D

it's actually for making tempeh bacon :) but its great for burger too :)

Keren kreasinya
Burger tempe sepertinya lebih sehat dan cocok untuk Vegetarian👍😋😊

ga hanya vegetarian kan yang makan tempe ;-)

Oh my, we in Malaysia loves tempeh. Maybe not all but mostly. Tempeh burger, seriously. I haven't thought of that and it does look appetising. My husband loves burger, I must tell him this.

yes, i would assume the Malaysians like tempeh too. Heck, the Japanese like tempeh, so yeah, Malaysians too, since you guys are closer haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44