Homemade Gummy Bears

Hi Friends!

Today is hot, hot, hot. Feels like Spring is approaching rather abruptly lol. Sunny day, and jacket was too much, we had to turn A/C in the car. Wowzer.

But am not here to really talk about the weather!

Today I would like to share my fun time, playing in the kitchen with the new silicon molds my husband got me a couple of weeks ago.

Yep, correct, them molds are for making gummy bears!

So we grabbed various fruit juices as we wanted to try to make colorful and flavorful gummy bears, right. But so far, we only tried 2 fruit juices only :P

The molds cavities are super small, so one cannot really make big batches, you know. So after trying 2 juices, that was it, for now :D

You can find the silicone molds on Amazon. We got the small ones, but take my word, get the large ones, and a couple of them, so you can prepare one big batch and not taking time, waiting for first batch to firm up, then do 2nd batch, etc.

Ours come with the syringe, that was really helpful, but am not sure if every vendors would offer the syringe. If not, get a syringe from Walmart, or best at pharmacy, they will always have a syringe :)

Our gummy bears are without gelatin, but using agar-agar, and there are tons of recipes on the net for cruelty free a.k.a vegan gummy bears. Majority of the recipes are the same, so I followed up, and I have to be honest, the texture of the gummy bears are not chewy as original would with gelatin. The gummy bears are rather like jelly, as agar-agar would. So I will have try to explore more, how to produce chewy vegan gummy bears.

I do have a couple of ideas what I would add to the basic recipe, so definitely there would be a recipe or two of vegan gummy bears on my blog in coming days/weeks/months lol, in the future!

For now, here is the measurement I used for the gummy bears JELLY on the picture :)

Ingredients

  • 1 c fruit juice
  • 1 - 1 1/2 tsp of agar-agar powder
  • sugar/sweetener as needed, should you think your juice is not sweet enough.
    Method
  • Bring juice to boil, to reduce it a little
  • Stir in agar-agar powder to dissolve and let boil for another 3-4 minutes
  • Cool a little and start squirting the mixture into the molds (with the help of the syringe)

There is not really a need to chill the jelly in the fridge, they will firm up at room temperature as well, by the way. But if you are impatient like my boys were, for sure chill them in the fridge to firm up :D

For the gummy bears jelly on the picture, I used grape juice while the red ones were with tropical juice (mixed fruits).

Thanks for looking and I'll see you around :)


Vote Witnesses!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=1


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

So cute!! Your gummy bears look really nice and chewy even though you said they were not as chewy. Time to check out those molds!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Khimgooooh hugs hugs

how are you, momma? still nauseous? ginger candy was my best friend when I was pregnant, but I bet you already know that :D

they have other shapes as well, we got some Lego shapes. the boys dont know that we got the Lego shapes too, it would be a surprise for them once i use the molds :D

Wah ide bagus tuh... Mau cobA juga ah 😋

looks so cute and yummy, looks so easy to make

super easy for sure, but it's missing that chewiness :)

You make it look so easy and fun :D

It is soooo easy and fun!

Come make some too 😊

Adding that to the 333 things already on my To Do list :D

I make gummy candies too- the only difference is my variation has cannabis tincture in it. I need to get some of these little molds too- Mine a little bigger

Oooohhh must be good gummy bears you got, jealous 🤣

Very tempting to try. Kids love hum! Every body loves gummy bears.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for visiting!

Howdy there thekitchenfairy! hey I just got a notice saying that you are unfollowing me? you are one of my favorite people on here. Did I do something wrong?

yes, you have been naughty lol

i sent you a dm on discord

haha! I've been there before! Ok, I'll go see what I did wrong. thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by whosthekitchenfairy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51