You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Family Garden Time!

Great post and a family activity of the highest order.
I also found that planting corn is a waste of time and resources.
I also love the idea of starting out with seeds rather than buying the established plant. The germination process is exciting to watch as the seeds sprout from the ground.
Tomatoes are one of my favorite vegetables, and growing different kinds is always a good idea. It is always a treat to go to the garden and eat a handful of those little cherry tomatoes.
The deeper the boxes are for the carrots the better the carrot.
Carrots are one of the vegetable that preserves the best. If you happen to grow an excess of vegetables , the easiest way to preserve is to blanch, vacumn pack and freeze. Here is a site that explains the blanching instructions for every fruit and vegetable you can imagine.
http://www.pickyourown.org/index.htm

There is nothing like going to the freezer in the middle of the winter and grabbing some vegetables that were grown during the summer. Preserving by blanching and freezing will keep the vegetables as fresh as the day you harvested them. We are still pulling veggies from our frig and they taste as fresh as ever.

IMG_2608.JPG

Good luck with this year's garden.

Sort:  

Holy shit that comment probably has more good information in it than my original post! The #powerhousecreatives group could really use a blogger like you if you are interested in applying. So many positive folks supporting each other and many nature/garden lovers from across the globe.

Thanks again for the great insight. @matkodurko calls me uncle here and I feel I am cousins with @ryan313 (I get that right?) so I may refer to you as uncle as well for all the great advice. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're more than welcome.
Stepping out later today for the weekend, going to my first Yankee game on Saturday at the new stadium.
When I get back I would love to check out #powerhousecreatives, sounds like a good group of people.

Feel free to call me uncle, just refrain from calling me grandpa. 😁

Enjoy the trip and the Yankees!

Powerhouse creatives have been a great community for me and you may recognize some folks like @old-guy-photos, @brittandjosie, @fullcoverbetting, @abh12345, @mariannewest and other positive and active steemians.

If I was to call you grandpa, you would probably be a great great grandpa in real life when in reality, you probably only have a few years on me.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62802.36
ETH 2462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62