You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Back in the day ...

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

I could not agree more. But it goes beyond scents... also colors, textures, ...
Two years ago, I got interested in companion planting. I'm far from an expert yet, but I've seen the results in my small garden. It's a bit of a shame to see my borage, calendula flowers and nasturtiums covered in aphids, but by planting them all over the garden those creepy little suckers leave my other crops alone.
This year, I'm experimenting with tobacco plants. I sowed some because I had read they are like trap plants for pests like whiteflies (still using basil to keep those away from my tomato plants too). Meanwhile, I've learned tobacco plants are a great indicator plant for a lot of annoying things.

Most people are using companion planting even without knowing they do so. The most common example is to grow butterfly- or bee attracting flowers so your tomato or cucumber flowers get pollinated.

The list is endless... garlic to keep away slugs, sowing onions and carrots together to disorientate the carrotfly (or is it the onionfly?), marigolds to keep the soil healthy, parsely to improve the taste of tomatoes and strawberries,...
I find it all very interesting. But at the start of a season, it always feels like my garden is like a puzzle with too many pieces, lol.
My herb spiral looks sad and empty, because all my herbs end up in between my veggies.

I'm planning to learn more about it in the future, because when companion planting is done right, crop rotation becomes of lesser importance. If you can find the good combinations that will enrich your soil with the right element there's no need to make the puzzle even more complicated by moving around your crops every year.

Like I said, I still have a lot to learn, (also, I forget about a lot of good combinations and have to start my puzzle at the beginning of every season again), but it is already paying off...

It's how nature works...in nature, you don't find one kind of crop on one field... everything grows together, and not without a reason.

Sort:  

Loved your comments - I must look into the tobacco plant.
I grow a lot of veggies in containers and one can really see what is working.
You also mentioned trap plants - I will be doing a post on that soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57